Formula Windsurfing

ISAF have now published the list of new "Approved Production Boards" that are eligible to race in formula windfsurfing events from 1st January 2010.

The International Formula Windsurfing Class is pleased to welcome 3 new brands to formula windsurfing competition - Carbon Art, JP, and PD (Patrik Diethelm).

This welcome addition increases the number of brands registering new boards to 9; with the total of 12 new boards introduced for the 2010/2011 competition period.

In addition to the new brands we have new boards from Drops, Exocet, F2, Gaastra, Mike's Lab, and two from Starboard.

2009 Irish Wave Tour

For anyone who has sailed here during one of the finals in the past few years will have noticed that it gets windy this time of the year around Belmullet and this year was no exception.

In total we sailed three rounds of Gold fleet competitions and six rounds of Silver fleet comp, changed beach half way through Saturday, survived consistent 35 knot winds with 49 knot gusts and basked in the sunny weather on Sunday while buzzing on Red Bull and background music!

Saturday’s comp kicked off on Caisléan beach with a southwesterly, 4.5 metre wind and 2 foot waves, The first few rounds started off with nice big back loops and stalled forwards from Oisin Van Geldron, Finn Mullen and Dan Gardner and Rob Creane going for full on spin loops on the way in. The waves were still small and the wind was going more onshore as the morning went on so jumps were counting the most to get through the rounds. 

These conditions didn’t last too long and by the time the Silver fleet hit the water for their first heat (40 minutes into the comp) the wind was already at a 30 knot average, the average sail size was 3.7 and the wind had gone completely onshore. Sailing out through the waves was still pretty exciting; if you hit the ramp you were going skyward. The silver fleet sailors, Bartek Furmaniuk, Alison Beirne, Paul Reid and James Lang all sailed like champions with some pretty amazing jumps all through their heat.

By the time their heat was over and we were back into the Gold fleets 5th heat, the wind had gotten even windier 3.2m sails the average size with Oisin breaking out his secret weapon a 2.9m! After a few more heats the wind was dead onshore, the waves had built to 4 or 5 feet and sailing became extreme. After lunch and few cans of Red Bull there was a sailors meeting with the judges and the decision was made to move location. The wind had swung around enough to make it sailable in Falmore, where the waves were smaller, but punchier but more importantly the wind was crosshore.

Read more ...

Robert Carwright

The Robert Cartwright Memorial Trophy will be awarded this weekend at the RYA Youth & Masters/UKWA British Open.

Robert Cartwright was a young Windsurfer (aged 12) who was a member of the West Zone Windsurfing Squad coached by Helen Cartwright and Ian Roberts. His older sister Sarah had been a member of the Youth National Squad and was a talented sailor.

Robert loved Windsurfing and could always be seen with a smile on his face, going as fast as he possibly could and ‘normally’ in the right direction!

He was a fantastic squad member and was friends with all of the other sailor in the squad and a joy to coach. Whilst not always winning every competition he would always enjoy himself and never gave up, finishing virtually every race he ever entered.

It was on the way home from a Zone Squad Windsurfing event that Robert was tragically killed along with his father Phil when their car was involved in a head on collision. Roberts mother Pat was seriously injured and has made a remarkable recovery. Sarah, Roberts’s sister who was also injured, has continued to be involved in the sport of Windsurfing and coaches the up and coming youngsters of today.

The Rob Cartwright memorial trophy is a fitting tribute to Rob’s memory being presented to a Windsurfer who personifies what Windsurfing meant to Robert, fun, enthusiasm, commitment and passion.

Past winners have included Richard Hamilton, Paul Sibley, Lindsey Smith, and Matt Brown. It has been the greatest honour to have Pat and Sarah present the trophy in person each year at the Youth and Junior Championships.