2009 PWA Fuerteventura

Jose ‘Gollito’ Estredo (Fanatic/North Sails/MFC) and Sarah Quita Offringa (Starboard/NeilPryde) start their campaign with a perfect run, as they take the lead in the first single elimination. After two outstanding performances, the reigning World Champions start as they mean to go on.

The 30-knot offshore winds funneled over the dunes at Sotavento beach, creating the ultimate freestyle conditions for the pros. The flat water was broken up by the occasional wave, as an incredible display of power-freestyle stole the show. The grand stand was full throughout the contest, as the crowd withstood the sand and wind to catch a glimpse of the world’s best freestylers in action.

The men’s fleet, culminated in an outstanding final between Jose ‘Gollito’ Estredo (Fanatic/North Sails/MFC) and Marcillo Browne (Fanatic/North Sails), who went head to head in the first single elimination. Both sailors had been fantastic, passing the excellent Kenneth Danielsen (RRD/Simmer Style/MFC) and Ian Mouro Lemos (JP/NeilPryde), amongst others, on the way to the ultimate heat.

The final was a clear demonstration of intentions: Estredo showing he was the man to beat, and Browne making it clear that he was going to give everything. Having enjoyed success for so long, Gollito sailed with confidence, which somehow made his sailing seem leagues ahead of his competitors.

He nailed an incredible combination of a shaka, and air flaka and his trademark one-handed ponch, whilst Browne tried to push too hard, and fell on his opening moves. He soon recovered to nail an impressive air chacho, and one handed air funnel. In the end, Estredo proved too much, and took his first win at this Fuerteventura contest.

Read more ...

2009 Irish Slalom Series at Downings

In the 26th Year of the competition over 130 competitors arrived on the beach of Sheephaven Bay to enjoy the fabulous conditions for safe sailing.

12 races were held over the 2 day event with a strong fleet of competitive sailors travelling from throughout Ireland, England and further a field.

This event is one of the best attended in the IWA calendar and included support from Tushingham Sails, IWA and Surfdoc.

Gold Fleet – competing in round 4 of the Irish Windsurfing Association Irish Slalom series

1st Overall Pierce Guiney – last years champion from Cork
2nd Overall Paul Simmons - England
3rd Overall Hannes Louet – Holland
1st Grand Master Chris Loughridge – Belfast
1st Lady Marie Buchanon – England
1st U20 boy Matthew McNutt – Downings
1st U20 girl Amy McBride – Downings
1st U17 Boy Joseph Fletcher – Belfast
1st U17 Girl Anna Bonnar – Downings
1st U14 boy John Fletcher – ( age 8 ) Belfast
1st U14 girl Rebecca Fletcher – Hillsborough

Read more ...

2009 US Windsurfing National Championships

Bruce Peterson is the new US Windsurfing National Champion.

The 2009 US Windsurfing National Championships & Techno 293 National Championships were held between July 23rd-26th in the Hood River.

These are the final results:

National Champion
Bruce Peterson

National Slalom Champion
Bruce Peterson

Slalom Men
First Place :: James Dinnis
Second Place :: Tyson Poor
Third Place :: Bryan Metcalf-Perez

Slalom Women
First Place :: Astrid Leitner
Second Place :: Shelley Gimbal
Third Place :: Farrah Hall

Slalom Masters
First Place :: Chris Prior
Second Place :: David Wells
Third Place :: Torsten Tabel

Slalom Grand Masters
First Place :: Bruce Peterson
Second Place :: MacRae Wylde
Third Place :: Jean Rathle

Slalom Junior Boys
First Place :: Jay Watermeyer
Second Place :: Aaron Cardwell
Third Place :: Alex Nielsen

Slalom Junior Girls
First Place :: Marion Lepert
Second Place :: Alyson Fromm
Third Place :: Kelly Watermeyer

Slalom T293
First Place :: Austin Emser
Second Place :: Kevin Hendrickson
Third Place :: Solvig Sayre

Formula Men
First Place :: Eric Christianson
Second Place :: Steve Bodner
Third Place :: Jean Rathle

Formula Women
First Place :: Farrah Hall
Second Place :: Karen Marriott
Third Place :: Shelley Gimbal

Formula Masters
First Place :: Chris Prior
Second Place :: Al Mirel
Third Place :: David Wells

Formula Grand Masters
First Place :: Bruce Peterson
Second Place :: Chris Radkowski
Third Place :: Mike Percey

Formula Junior Boys
First Place :: Chris Gardiner
Second Place :: Cullen Ahearn
Third Place :: Jay Watermeyer

Formula Junior Girls
First Place :: Marion Lepert
Second Place :: Alyson Fromm
Third Place :: Lene Botha

Open Men
First Place :: Jack Wiley
Second Place :: Richard White
Third Place :: Michel Py

Techno 293 National Championship

U15 Boys
First Place :: Rasmus Sayre
Second Place :: Christopher Waldo
Third Place :: Emmett McDonald

U17 Boys
First Place :: Austin Emser
Second Place :: Kevin Hendrickson
Third Place :: Christopher Conlon

U17 Girls
First Place :: Margot Samson
Second Place :: Josefina Roder

U17 Girls
First Place :: Solvig Sayre