2009 PWA Fuerteventura

The pressure will begin to mount on Antoine Albeau (JP/NeilPryde) after an epic day of competition saw three new faces take the top spots. Michah Buzianis (JP/NeilPryde) has had a solid day, crowned by his win in the opening round.

Josh Angulo (Angulo/MauiSails/Dakine) finally realised his potential by winning the second round convincingly, whilst Finian Maynard (RRD/NeilPryde) took the third round after an incredible start line performance.

It would seem that the Rene Egli Centre is perhaps the best-positioned windsurfing school in the world. Sotavento Beach has once again provided incredible conditions, allowing the stars of the PWA to compete for glory just meters from an adoring crowd.

The wind speed varied between 22 and 38 knots, in a day where consistency, talent, and speed were put to the test. It was all to play for as the competitors fought their way through the third epic day of slalom, here at the 2009 Fuerteventura Grand Slam.

It was made quite clear today that no sailors were prepared to step to one side to let the dominant Antoine Albeau (JP/NeilPryde) walk away with a victory. Albeau was constantly challenged, being forced back to second, fifth and twelfth in today’s three eliminations. By any normal standards these results would be exceptional, but for Albeau, nothing but the best will suffice.

Read more ...

2009 PWA Fuerteventura

Antoine Albeau (JP/NeilPryde) has opened the Fuerteventura Grand Slam in style, smashing his way to two consecutive victories, and leaving his competitors for dead. Bjorn Dunkerbeck (Starboard/Severne) snatched the final victory of the day, whilst Finian Maynard (RRD/NeilPryde) and Micah Buzianis (JP/NeilPryde) continually dominated at the head of the fleet.

It was a glorious day at Sotavento Beach, where a full tide lapped at the shores of the turquoise lagoon. A cross-offshore trade wind build throughout the day, peaking at 35 knots, allowing the slalom elite to use their fastest equipment and put on an incredible display.

There were three full rounds of slalom today, each one containing a breathtaking mix of action, excitement and drama.

Antoine Albeau (JP/NeilPryde) was outstanding once again, showing that he will stop at nothing to take home the World Title this year. It was a great day in the office for the defending champion, who took two great victories early on. Albeau was made to fight for fourth place in the last final, where an epic display of speed took him from eighth to fourth in just two reaches. He finished the day on top of the leader board by a comfortable margin.

Finian Maynard (RRD/NeilPryde) and Micah Buzianis (JP/NeilPryde) looked very strong this afternoon, finishing up just one point apart, and with everything to play for. Both sailors were focused, consistent and incredibly fast, and they will be pleased by their performances today.

Read more ...

2009 PWA Fuerteventura

After an epic week in Pozo, the world’s best windsurfers will arrive on the white sands of Sotavento Beach from Wednesday 22nd July. This is the final stop on the grueling Canary Islands tour, where both Slalom and Freestyle fleets will be competing fiercely.

Once again, the event is hosted at the world famous Rene Egli Windsurf Centre on the south eastern shores of the island. This amazing location is moments away from the waterfront, where cross-offshore winds blast across the beautiful blue ocean. The Fuerteventura event has played a great part in the history of the PWA, and it was the birthplace of the modern freestyle discipline.

Competition this year will start with the men’s slalom, and go into men’s and women’s freestyle. Running between the 22nd July and the 1st August, this event promises to be a great eleven-day spectacle.

As the race for the overall title heats up, the top sailors will be giving everything they can to get their hands on crucial tour points.

After a classic performance from Antoine Albeau (JP/NeilPryde) in Pozo, the defending champion, and current Tour leader, will be headlining the event. He will be joined by the biggest names in the sport: Kevin Pritchard (Starboard/Gaastra/Dakine), Bjorn Dunkerbeck (Starboard/Severne) and Finian Maynard (RRD/NeilPryde).

Also pushing the challenge for the title will be the excellent Cyril Moussilmani (Starboard/North Sails), Ross Williams (Tabou/Gaastra) and Peter Volwater (F2/MauiSails).

Read more ...