Antoine Albeau 

Antoine Albeau (FRA, Starboard) and Karin Jaggi (SUI, F2, North) are the speed windsurfing world champions 2008. After 7 rounds of speedsailing in challenging conditions, Albeau took the victory with a perfect score of 3.5 points.
Vice world champion became Patrik Diethelm (ITA, F2, North). Bjorn Dunkerbeck (SUI, T1/Proof, North) took the last days race as a discard, as he was already well ahead of Finian Maynard (BVI) in fourth.

In the womens fleet, it was very close racing in the beginning of the event between Valerie Ghibaudo (FRA, Loft Sails), taking two bullets in the first rounds, and Karin Jaggi, winning the next four races. The final day brought no changes to the ranking anymore. Marion Raisi (FRA) taking third place then.

The event started with challenging conditions as the wind was pretty light in correlation to the deep angle of the course. The top speeds came close to 40 knots, with a close battle between Albeau and Diethelm. With improving wind speeds Dunkerbeck came closer, but was never able to really challenge the top duo. The places behind were hardly fought for between Maynard and the Moussilmani brothers, Slalom specialists Dan Ellis (GBR, Fanatic) and Peter Volwater (F2, North) as well as living legend Anders Bringdal (SWE) completing the top 10.

With higher wind speeds and the high tide in the afternoon the top speeds improved over the curse of the week, with Antoine Albeau again setting the top speed of the event with 40.54 knots average over the 500m speedcourse.


RS:X China

Neil Pryde have issued 50 sets of equipment to competitors participating in the Olympic Regatta. The balance will be issued when those athletes arrive on site.

After two years of concentrated effort and attention to detail, we are pleased to report that no major issues have been encountered. The RS:X equipment has been subjected to the most intense scrutiny by the athletes who report that speed differences have been reduced to a minimum.

The sails look amazing with national flags taking up a full panel promising a strong visual impact during the OG.

Athletes have been out training on their supplied equipment and confirm that they are satisfied. In fact, one has been seen looping his RS:X as it has been unusually windy with no ill effects!

Neil Pryde have taken the utmost care to ensure that the hulls remained in a temperature controlled environment since leaving the factory. They were shipped and stored in an air-conditioned container to ensure that they were not subject to excessive temperatures.


Antoine Albeau

Another two rounds of speed sailing have been completed today in epic conditions.  Antoine Albeau (FRA, Starboard) and Karin Jaggi (SUI, F2, North) are now leading the overall ranking after six rounds and one discard.

The day started already windy, and all sailors were aware of what would follow. The first start was scheduled for 11:00 then, and the 63 competitors were off on the water.

This time it was Patrick Diethelms (ITA, F2, North) turn, winning the first leg ahead of Dunkerbeck (T1/Proof, North) and Antoine Albeau. Chris Lockwood (AUS, Carbon Art, KA Sails) in fourth, finally his equipment was tuned for the conditions. With quite a big swell speedsailing in Fuerteventura is different to the flat water of Sandy Point, where Chris is regulary setting world class speeds. Another surprise in fifth, Dan Ellis from Great Britain scored his best result so far.

In the second leg then, the revenge of Antoine, with 40.54 the top speed of the competition. Diethelm in second this time, and Finian Maynard (BVI) finding his way back to the top with a third place. Dunkerbeck in fourth, and all three Moussilmani brothers in fifth to seventh place.