Mammoth full fleet race action saw Antoine Albeau (Starboard, NeilPryde) add another victory to his run of first place finishes, ahead of Peter Volwater (North Sails) in second, and Kevin Pritchard in third (Starboard, Gaastra, Dakine, MFC).

Women’s Freestyle Double Elimination

Taking centre stage on day four, the women’s freestyle double elimination swung into action. First to fall were Olga Raskina (JP, NeilPryde) and Nina Tjernberg (F2, North Sails), who failed to match the routines of rivals Iballa Moreno (North Sails) and Silva Alba Orozco (MFC).

Gaining momentum, Moreno and Alba Orozco continued to dominate when they met Evi Tsape (Fanatic, NeilPryde) and Yolanda Freites De Brendt (Fanatic, North Sails) in the next round. Tsape had no reply to Moreno’s powerful forward and slick flaka, likewise Freites De Brendt couldn’t match moves like Alba Orozco’s fully planning spock 540. Moreno and Alba Orozco advanced to go head to head in the next heat, the victor meeting Laure Treboux (Fanatic, North Sails).


Continuing her run of dominance after winning in Lanzarote, Sarah-Quita Offringa (Starboard, NeilPryde) took top honors in the first freestyle single elimination after defeating Daida Moreno (North Sails) in the final.

In the slalom fleet, Antoine Albeau (Starboard, NeilPryde) showed devastating form to win both race eliminations, adding to his run of first place finishes in all four race eliminations so far.

Women’s Freestyle Single Elimination

The first freestyle elimination hit the water in winds gusting up to 45 knots at times. In the first quarterfinal Laure Treboux (Fanatic, North Sails) and Sarah-Quita Offringa looked more comfortable than rivals Silvia Alba Orozco (MFC) and Yolanda Freites De Brendt (Fanatic, North Sails), landing more technical moves to advance into the semi final. Joining them were Junko Nagoshi (Simmer Sails) and Daida Moreno, who defeated opponents Iballa Moreno (North Sails), and Evi Tsape (Fanatic, NeilPryde).


Blue sky and solid wind welcomed the start of day two’s slalom spectacular. Swinging into action shortly after midday, the heats delivered mind-boggling racing from the outset. 
The dominant forces at work in the first round of race one were Micah Buzianis (JP, NeilPryde, MFC), Bjorn Dunkerbeck (North Sails, T1), Arnon Dagan (Fanatic, Gaastra) and Antoine Albeau (Starboard, NeilPryde), who all motored to the lead in their respective heats.
Entering the second round of heats, the wind dropped down and became very gusty, making the racing far more testing for the sailors. Shock came at the start of heat five, when Ben Van Der Steen (Exocet, Simmer Sails), Dunkerbeck, and Jesper Orth (Starboard, Severne) all crossed the start line early and were disqualified. In that same heat, Ross Williams (Tabou, Gaastra) adjusted to the changing conditions well, to sail a blisteringly fast race and advance into the final.

Also putting the hammer down to fend off the opposition were Buzianis, Finian Maynard (RRD, NeilPryde), Jimmy Diaz (North Sails) and Thomas Larsen (Mistral, NeilPryde), who took up positions in the final as well.