Cabo Verde 2009 wildcards announced

The 2009 Cabo Verde PWA World Cup event organizer, Cabo Verde Investments along with their local advisor, Josh Angulo, have come to decisions on who will receive the organizer wildcards.

Three of the four wildcards have gone to local hotshots Mitu Monteiro, Djo Silva and Titik Lopes with the last remaining slot being given to windsurfing legend Francisco Goya.

Event spokesman Josh Angulo commented on the choice “Seeing all the requests for wildcards coming in from abroad both to the organizers and the PWA, I certainly wouldn’t want to be in the position of the PWA board members in having to choose the 4 remaining slots.

On our side the decision was relatively easy as Djo, Mitu and Titik are the 3 hottest local guys and we by all means will continue to invest in and push our local youth.

The decision to issue Francisco a wildcard was also an easy choice. Francisco, a World Champion, proven Ponta Preta ripper and windsurf legend, he was the first international sailor on our wildcard list and as a country and event we await his presence and look forward to him once again bringing his incomparable style to Ponta Preta….. Welcome Francisco !”

So there you have it. The Organizer Wildcards are allotted for, now there remains only 4 more positions from the PWA. Let’s see how they handle things on their side and it would be great o see  a press release from PWA representative Rich Page on the PWA wildcard allotments….. stay tuned!

2009 Langebaan Downwind Dash

The world’s biggest kite and windsurf race! Main Beach Langebaan was a kaleidoscope of colour and activity yesterday, as it played host to the world’s biggest kitesurfing and windsurfing race – the Resolution Downwind Dash in conjunction with the Saldanha Beach Sailing Club and Gust Magazine.

The small town’s lagoon was lit up with a splendor of kites and sails, as a record 320 sailors sped their way from Langebaan Main Beach through the 20 kilometer course to the finish at Dial rock, Saldanha.

The event, now in its 24th year, has grown from strength to strength each year leading it to be the biggest mixed race in the world. Event originator and race Director, Malcolm McGregor had no idea that what was once a couple of mates racing each other for a couple of beers would turn into a world class event.

The event is now sanctioned by both the International Windsurfing Association (IWA) and the International Kitesurfing Association (IKA) and points count towards the world slalom series.

Resolution proudly joined the event, along with support from Redbull and Voila Travel there was a handsome prize purse of R70 000 in cash and travel vouchers.

With the points and great prizes available, the event drew the attention of some of the worlds best sailors such as five times world freestyle champion Aaron Hadlow (UK), Sebastien Cattelan (FRA) – first sailor to ever break the 50knot barrier, Alex Caizergues (FRA) – outright world speed record holder, Sjoukje Bredenkamp (RSA) – outright women world speed record holder, world champion slalom windsurfer Ross Williams (UK), and Ben Moussilmani.

There were a host of international riders and a whole spread between professionals, families, amateurs, girls, guys, kids and characters like pirates and team Primi Piatti.

Everybody finished with smiles on their faces and the personal battles that went on amongst friends to see who would make it to the end first was enjoyed by all.

Malcolm McGregor, the race director, would like to thank all participants be they competitors, officials, rescue crew, sponsors and spectators for their support of the event.

Participants enjoyed the evening at the Club Mykonos marina terrace with a fish braai and live entertainment from Nungarin and Shy Guevaras. Special thanks to Resolution for making the event possible, to Malcolm and the Saldanha Beach Sailing Club, Red Bull, Hunters and the rest of the sponsors.

1 Williams Ross 
2 Benoit Moussilmani 
3 Greg Thijsse 
4 Alex Caizerguerus 
5 Klaas Voget 
6 Seb Cattalan 
7 Steven Rhodes 
8 A. Carl 
9 Andy Lanfer 
10 Wayne Louw 
11 Eli Zarke 
12 M. Derman 
13 Colin Heckroodt 
14 Luke Gillewie 
15 N Zwager 
16 Ben Van Der Steen 
17 Mike Nothnagel 
18 James Busse 
19 Martin Prest 
20 P. Goeschl 
21 Andre Myberg 
22 Aaron Hadlow 
23 Hennie Bredenkamp 
24 Jason Fornes 
25 Jandre Fraser 
26 Anthony Berzak 
27 Jake Scrae 
28 Hugo Stoltenborg 
29 Tiaan Van Niekerk 
30 Herve Rousseau

Irish Windsurfing Slalom Series

After one of the most successful competitive years of competition, the Irish Windsurfing Slalom Series is confirmed for 2009. The ISS Team has put together an even better schedule for the upcoming season.

Back on the calendar are the five events from last year. Neilpryde Group UK/ have organized the Irish Sea Challenge. The challenge involves the IWA and UKWA crossing the Irish Sea to battle it out for the Irish Sea Challenge Title.

UKWA competitors will make the journey in April to Malahide to kick off the 2009 action. Round two of the ISS will require Irish competitors to travel to Wales to compete in the Irish Sea Challenge Part 2. The event also coincides with Round 1 of the British Slalom Series.

The event will provide an ideal opportunity for Irish Sailors to experience some international competition. Three events will take place over the summer months. In June Jamie Knox will host round three at Ireland’s most famous windsurfing location.

July brings competitors north to Downings; Ireland’s biggest windsurfing event. To finish off the summer schedule the ISS moves south to Coolmaine, Co. Cork. The final ranking event of the year will take place at Silver Strand, Co. Galway.

Irish competitors have also been invited to take part in the Channel Challenge. Two big events will take place in Brighton, UK and Wimmeraux, France. The ISS crew is hoping to attend both events with the Irish Team and are encouraging all sailors to accompany them.

Event Location Date

ISS/ISC Round 1 Malahide, Co. Dublin April 4th/ 5th
ISS/ISC Round 2 Rhosneiger, Wales May 16th/ 17th
ISS Round 3 Castlegregory, Co. Kerry June 13th/ 14th
ISS Round 4 Downings, Co. Donegal July 18th/ 19th
ISS Round 5 Coolmaine, Co. Cork August 15th/ 16th
ISS Round 6 Silver Strand, Galway September 12th/ 13th
CC Round 1 Brighton, UK  September 19th/ 20th
CC Round 2 Wimmeraux, France Oct/ Nov 2009 (TBC) 

All events in BOLD will count towards the Irish Slalom Series National Championships. There will be 1 event discard allowed for all age categories. Results from the Irish Sea Challenge events will be altered to include only Irish Slalom Series competitors.

ISS – Irish Slalom Series, ISC – Irish Sea Challenge, CC – Channel Challenge