PWA Fuerteventura, day four 

The men hit the water first to add a ninth race to their tally from the previous days. Signs of nerves were all too apparent, when four out of the twelve competitors in the losers’ final false started.

Taking the reigns of the depleted heat, Josh Angulo (MauiSails, Dakine) clawed his way into first position, meaning he’d walk away with a 13th place finish for that race.

In the winners final, which would decide the top twelve positions of the race, Bjorn Dunkerbeck (T1, North) emerged as the man to beat. He fended off advances from event leader Antoine Albeau (Starboard, NeilPryde) to take his second race win of the event so far. Albeau finished in second, and Ben Van Der Steen (Exocet, Simmer) looked dangerous in third.

Following a short break for lunch, the second race of the day swung into action. First to slip up was F2’s shaper, Patrik Diethelm (F2, North), who failed to make it through the first round of heats thanks to a false start.


PWA Fuerteventura, day three 

Two race eliminations, and two full fleet races were completed in the men’s and women’s fleets. Winning the men’s eliminations were Finian Maynard (RRD, NeilPryde) and Bjorn Dunkerbeck (T1, North). The men’s full fleet races were won by Antoine Albeau (Starboard, NeilPryde) and Micah Buzianis (JP, NeilPryde, MFC).
In the women’s fleet, Valerie Ghibaudo (Tabou, The Loft) continued to dominate, winning both race eliminations and one full fleet race. Karin Jaggi claimed victory in the remaining full fleet race.
Men’s Fleet
Race 5: Kick starting the day’s proceedings in a fresh 15-30 knot wind, the first round of heats followed a relatively predictable path to the semi finals. Moving into the race final, all the big names stood poised to do battle.


PWA Fuerteventura 

In the men’s fleet, Antoine Albeau (Starboard, NeilPryde) further cemented his event lead by winning two out of the three men’s races. Hot on his heels, Kevin Pritchard (Starboard, Gaastra, MFC, Dakine) snapped up his first victory of the event in the remaining race.

In the women’s fleet, Valerie Ghibaudo (Tabou, The Loft) stamped her authority on the day’s proceedings, by winning two out of the three women’s races. Marking a return to form, Karin Jaggi (F2, North Sails) emerged victorious in race four but remains seventh overall following her early disastrous results.

Men’s Fleet

Race 2: Premature starts for Taty Frans (Starboard, North Sails) and Ludovic Jossin (F2, The Loft) signalled the end of their progress in the first of the day’s eliminations. Also slipping up, Ross Williams (Tabou, Gaastra) and Gonzalo Costa Hoevel (NeilPryde) uncharacteristically failed to qualify for the semi finals.