2014 Pride Mystics Pro: a dramatic final in the ABA Pro Tour

Jake Stone is the 2014 Australian bodyboarding champion.

The Pride Mystics Pro was the final stage of the Australian Bodyboarding Association (ABA) Pro Tour. The race for the overall title had been reduced to four riders, but favorite Lachie Cramsie tumbled out in his opening round leaving the gate open for Joe Clarke, Marshall Watson and Jake Stone.

Clarke looked set to capture his first national championship, but finished third in his quarterfinal heat behind Chase O'Leary and Jason Finlay. Drama unfolding.

"That was just so heavy. I just couldn't deal with the pressure of that out there today; I've never experienced anything like it," expressed Joe.

Stone needed to finish first or second in the final to win the title, but he was up against some serious opposition. Davis Blackwell seemed to have a good read on the sandbanks at Mystics, and picked the eyes out of the best sets in the final.

The four-man priority system meant that everyone had the best possible opportunity to get their fair share of waves, but Davis choreographed his rides perfectly to take the title.

"I'm so happy. This is my first win on the Aussie tour, and to beat opposition like this makes it even sweeter," underlines Blackwell. When the siren sounded, Stone was also a very happy man.

"I'm just so stoked, I can't stop smiling. Thanks to ABA and all the crew that have made this Tour what it is, and I can't wait to see what you guys roll out in 2015," added the 2014 Australian bodyboarding champion.

2014 Australian Bodyboarding Association (ABA) Pro Tour Rankings

1. Jake Stone
2. Joe Clarke
3. Lachlan Cramsie
4. Davis Blackwell
5. George Humphreys

The International Olympic Committee (IOC) approved surfing's qualification system for the Tokyo 2020.

+ Surfing News

Thirty Formula GPS kiteboarders battled it out on the mountains of the Alto Sangro, Italy, for the second leg of 2018 IKA Snowkite World Cup.

+ Kiteboarding News

Jarryd Wingfield, one of the most talented bodyboarders in the United Kingdom, has taken his own life. He was battling depression.

+ Bodyboarding News

Brad Domke calls Cylinders his home. He's been riding it for more than a decade. But you've never seen him in board transfers like these.

+ Skimboarding News