Pipeline: the 2016 APB Tour season kicks off inside the barrel | Photo: Specker/IBA

The list of invitees for the 2016 Mike Stewart Pipeline Invitational has been unveiled. Jamie O'Brien and Kainoa McGee are some of the stars of the show.

Due to the lack of official communication from the Association of Professional Bodyboarders (APB) - there are still no press releases and photo banks available for surf media - information flows through unofficial parties.

Mike Stewart, the host of the first event of the 2016 APB Tour season, announced via his bodyboarding company Science the names of the 24 bodyboarders that will join the elite riders in the Pipeline contest. They are:

Alistair Taylor (South Africa), Angelo Faraire (Tahiti), Charly Chapelet (Reunion Island), Dave Winchester (Australia), David Taurau (Tahiti), Davis Blackwell (Australia), Fred Temorere (Tahiti), George Humphries (Australia), Jacob VanderVelde (Hawaii), Jamie O'Brien (Hawaii), Josh Garner (Australia), Julien Miremont (Tahiti), Kainoa McGee (Hawaii), Lachlam Cramsie (Australia), Magno Passos (Brazil), Michael Oster (South Africa), Mitch Rawlins (Australia), Nakana Rivera (Hawaii), Rusty Friesen (USA West coast), Shaun Pyne (Australia), Sócrates Santana (Brazil), Spencer Skipper (Hawaii), Tahurai Henry (Tahiti), and Tim Hamilton (Hawaii).

They will surf against the APB Top 32, special wildcards (Ryan Hardy, Andre Botha, Guilherme Tamega, and Paulo Barcellos), the top 16 bodyboarders of the Hawaiian Islands, and eight athletes that will earn a ticket into the main event via trials.

The 2016 Mike Stewart Pipeline Invitational runs from February 21st through March 4th at Banzai Pipeline. The Trials will take place between February 16th-19th.

Surfing is a beautiful outdoor activity, and an exciting water sport, but it also hides insincerity, falsity, and duplicity. Discover why we, as surfers, behave like hypocrites.

+ Surfing News

Matteson Kai Morey is one of the four sons of Tom and Marchia Morey. He is seeking help to create a documentary on his father's contribution to the action sports industry.

+ Bodyboarding News

Nic Rapa and Sean Silveira have taken out the second event of the 2018 Supra Boats Pro Wakeboard Tour (PWT), held at Lake Allatoona's Dallas Landing Park, in Acworth, Georgia.

+ Wakeboarding News