Tahiti Challenge Trials 2016: eight riders are in the main event

Eight bodyboarders have earned a spot on the SparkGreen Tahiti Challenge 2016, the second stop on the APB World Tour season.

It was cold and rainy, but the waves were there. More than a decade later, Teahupoo delivered the first bombs for bodyboarding's new era. The infamous break pioneered by Mike Stewart and Ben Severson is once again an official stop on the sport's pro calendar.

The Tahiti Challenge Trials attracted 36 riders from all over the world. But only eight got the ticket into the main event. They are:

1. Cristobal Sciaraffia (Chile)
2. Maronui Richmond (Tahiti)
3. Martin Mouradian (Guadeloupe)
4. Sebastian Kreft (Chile)
5. Hitoti Henry (Tahiti)
6. Pedro Tartak (Puerto Rico)
7. Teavanui Dinard (Tahiti)
8. Jarrod Gibson (Australia)

Cristobal Sciaraffia had the highest heat total of the day, and he was clearly the standout rider of the Teahupoo trials.

"Thank you mother and everyone for the support. Thank you for trusting me. Now begins the real deal. I never stopped dreaming, and we are with the 48 best in the world," expressed Sciaraffia.

The Trials saw huge claims, the return of Manny Vargas, and Dave Hubbard's new fresh look. Now, it's time to play the ultimate game.

It's almost finals' day at Playa Llacolén. The 2018 Antofagasta Bodyboard Festival (ABF) continues in La Cupula, one of the finest boogie waves in Chile.

+ Bodyboarding News

Nic Rapa and Sean Silveira have taken out the second event of the 2018 Supra Boats Pro Wakeboard Tour (PWT), held at Lake Allatoona's Dallas Landing Park, in Acworth, Georgia.

+ Wakeboarding News