Diego Cabrera: your 2017 Itacoatiara Pro champion | Photo: D'Andrea/APB

Diego Cabrera has taken out the 2017 Itacoatiara Pro, in Brazil.

The bodyboarder from the Canary Islands defeated Portuguese powerhouse, Dino Carmo, in a rainy 30-minute final held in small surf conditions.

Cabrera built his two-wave score of 14.25 points in the first 10 minutes, and then controlled Carmo's moves. The Portuguese never found the opportunities he needed to overcome his opponent.

It was an emotional victory for Diego Cabrera. The 27-year-old rider suffered a cerebral hemorrhage and spent two months in a hospital bed, followed by eight months of recovery at home.

"I almost died. God made me go through this, to be stronger than ever. This is the happiest day of my life. Yes, I thought I would not go back to sea. I had many doubts. This is my first win after the stroke. I am deeply moved," expressed Cabrera.

In the women's final, Ayaka Suzuki defeated Nicole Calheiros, while in the Pro Junior clash Nelson Flores beat Luan Tavares and took the title to Chile.

2017 Itacoatiara Pro | Top 4

1. Diego Cabrera (SPA)
2. Dino Carmo (POR)
3. Iain Campbell (RSA)
4. Dave Hubbard (HAW)

1. Ayaka Suzuki (JAP)
2. Nicole Calheiros (BRA)
3. Maria Helena (BRA)
4. Paloma Freyggan (CHI)

Pro Junior
1. Nelson Flores (CHI)
2. Luan Tavares (BRA)
3. Cristobal Fernandez (CHI) 4. Igor de Almeida (BRA)

A German company specialized in designing and build wake park features announced the creation of the world's first floating outdoor surf pool.

+ Surfing News

Although a very young water sport, windsurfing has seen the birth, birth, and rebirth of several sailboard-oriented magazines.

+ Windsurfing News

The Australian Bodyboarding Association (ABA) has released the full schedule for the 2018 ABA Tour.

+ Bodyboarding News

Nico von Lerchenfeld has had the time of his life at Surf Snowdonia, in Wales. But he was not there to surf.

+ Wakeboarding News