Rheinard du Toit: watch your knees

The day kicked off with the Dropknee division. The morning was slightly windy, overcast and comfortably cool, but it was a nice rest from the sun and high temperatures of Day 1.

Warren Canepa (EP) and Derek Footit (SKZN) impressed in the morning with big turns and solid floaters. Canepa managed to get a cracker, with a thick gouge and a solid floater that earned him the first 9 point ride of the day.

Nico Muller (SKZN) was nervous prior to his heat, this being his first SA Champs in the DK division, but he showed how good he really is with a dominating win. Nico threw down one floater that left everyone's jaws on the ground as he did a lay-back and then pulled himself up to complete the move.

Juniors finally got their chance to surf and they did not disappoint their teams and avid supporters. Our stand-in photographer, Kyle Cabano (Bol) won his heat, showing that given the right waves, he is capable of making it through all the way to the final. Adam Waites (CKZN) and Stephen du Preez (CKZN) both managed to secure two solid rides to win their heats.

The Boys division was up next and having surfed the day before these competitors were more "in-tune" with the waves and seemed to know what was needed from them. Niklas Martin (EP) and Wesley Coetzee (SKZN) continued to dominate the division and are looking almost unstoppable.

In the Masters division Martin Otto continued to his winning streak, throwing down a really well executed Air-Roll-Spin. This ensured that Martin would win the heat and qualify for the next round.

The day ended with the Grand Masters and Mike van Huyssteen impressed the judges. Again everyone packed up and rushed out of the wind into the safety of the bustling Sun Coast Casino and Entertainment World.

Here are the Qualifying riders so far:

Boys Qualifiers:

Tristan Roberts (BOL)
Francois Conradie (BOL)
Dylan Le Roux (BOL)
Jacques De Klerk (BOL)
Nkosinathi Shandu (CKZN)
Shaun Hagen (CKZN)
Darren Clarke (CKZN)
Niklaus Martin (EP)
Pieter Martin (EP)
Michael Searle (EP)
Wesley Coetzee (SKZN)
Michael Mynhardt (SKZN)
Warren du Preez (SKZN)
Ethan Koopmans (WP)
Wilder Schultz (WP)
Ian Viljoen (WP)

Masters Qualifying:

Martin Otto (SKZN)
Karl Liebenberg (CKZN)
John Cawood (NKZN)
Robert Scott (WP)

Grand Masters Qualifying:


The International Olympic Committee (IOC) approved surfing's qualification system for the Tokyo 2020.

+ Surfing News

Thirty Formula GPS kiteboarders battled it out on the mountains of the Alto Sangro, Italy, for the second leg of 2018 IKA Snowkite World Cup.

+ Kiteboarding News

Jarryd Wingfield, one of the most talented bodyboarders in the United Kingdom, has taken his own life. He was battling depression.

+ Bodyboarding News

Brad Domke calls Cylinders his home. He's been riding it for more than a decade. But you've never seen him in board transfers like these.

+ Skimboarding News