Shark Island Challenge: not for boys

The 2011 Shark Island Challenge has entered the green light zone. Alex Leon, contest director, has opened the hostilities and the best bodyboarders in the world are ready to compete.

The low pressure system in the Tasman Sea will strengthen into Thursday producing a swell of 2-3 metres, which is forecast to deliver 6ft waves, on Friday morning.

The first heat will kick-off at 7am. Event duration will be five hours finishing at 12:00pm. The event format will see the top two riders from each heat progress to the four-man semi-finals, with the top two riders from each semi-final then progressing to a four-man final.

Damian Martin, Joe Clarke, Nick Ormerod, Ben Hall and Shaun Pyne will be the first riders to take on the waves of the 2011 Shark Island Challenge. The event will be streamed live. Coverage will start from 7:00am EST.

Heat 1: Damian Martin, Joe Clarke, Nick Ormerod, Ben Hall and Shaun Pyne
Heat 2: Sam Strachan, Jacob Romero, Mike Stewart, Dave Winchester and Dave Ballard
Heat 3: Chase O’Leary, Andrew Lester, Mark McCarthy, Ben Player and Christian Riguccini
Heat 4: Mitch Rawlins, Jeff Hubbard, Ryan Hardy, Adam Smith and Damian King

The push through, or punch through technique allows surfers to get past a small broken wave and reach the lineup without having to duck dive or turtle roll.

+ Surfing News

It's almost finals' day at Playa Llacolén. The 2018 Antofagasta Bodyboard Festival (ABF) continues in La Cupula, one of the finest boogie waves in Chile.

+ Bodyboarding News

Nic Rapa and Sean Silveira have taken out the second event of the 2018 Supra Boats Pro Wakeboard Tour (PWT), held at Lake Allatoona's Dallas Landing Park, in Acworth, Georgia.

+ Wakeboarding News