All set for the 2017 Portuguese Triple Crown of Bodyboarding

September 1, 2017 | Bodyboarding
Nazaré Pro: the third jewel of the Portuguese Triple Crown of Bodyboarding | Photo: Tabone/APB

Portugal is ready to host three consecutive APB World Tour stages that might very well decide who the 2017 champion will be.

The world's best male and female bodyboarders will make Portugal their home for a month. In fact, there's a lot at stake. The Men's, Women's, Pro Junior and Drop-Knee world titles could be decided in the Iberian Peninsula.

The Portuguese leg kicks off with the prestigious Sintra Pro, the longest running event in pro bodyboarding. Praia Grande will once again deliver its punchy waves in an always shifty beach break.

Pierre-Louis Costes will be one of the riders to beat. He won the contest three times, and he still chases an open window that could propel him to the top spot in the season's rankings.

Sintra will crown a drop-knee world champion, and may very well define the road to the women's world title. However, Praia Grande is not new to surprises, and the local crew traditionally excels in their home turf.

The second stop is also an iconic one. The Viana Pro will get underway in Arda Beach. Mike Stewart is one of the riders who know the spot well. He has been competing here for decades and will certainly be the man to beat.

Last but not least, the mother of all waves, and the queen of all beach breaks - Praia do Norte. The Nazaré Pro will separate put the bodyboarders to test in one of the most challenging waves on the planet.

There are riders from six nations in the top 10, but the world title race is still open to a larger number of athletes. Whatever happens in Portugal, it will only impress the fans.

The 2017 Portuguese Triple Crown of Bodyboarding kicks off September 12 in Sintra, then travels to Viana do Castelo and finishes October 12, in Nazaré's Praia do Norte.

2017 APB World Tour | Men's Top 10 Before Portugal

1. Iain Campbell (RSA) 11,300
2. Jared Houston (RSA) 10,190
3. Alex Uranga (ESP) 9,200
4. Dave Hubbard (HAW) 8,720
5. Roberto Bruno (BRA) 8,200
6. Diego Cabrera (ESP) 8,080
7. Jacob Romero (HAW) 7,500
8. Maxime Castillo (FRA) 6,920
9. Dino Carmo (POR) 6,850
10. Dudu Pedra (BRA) 6,800

SurferToday uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. More info: