Andrew Lester wins the Shark Island Challenge 2014

October 16, 2014 | Bodyboarding
Andrew Lester: barreled in Shark Island | Photo: APB/SIC

Andrew Lester has claimed the iconic Shark Island Challenge 2014, in Australia.

Pristine waves and sunny skies. The Shark Island Challenge 2014 got underway in perfect five-to-seven foot barrels pumping 100 metres off Cronulla Beach, New South Wales.

World-class bodyboarders had, once again, the opportunity to ride and taste the excruciating power of the "Surge" section of the reef. A Drop-Knee division has been added to the competition for the first time.

A total of 24 national and international riders have been invited to the Shark Island Challenge 2014, an APB World Tour Specialty bodyboarding event.

The first ever Shark Island Challenge was held in 1997. Guilherme Tamega is the bodyboarder with the most number of victories. The Brazilian rider triumphed thrice.

Shark Island Challenge 2014 | Final Results

1. Andrew Lester
2. Shaun Peterson
3. Shaun Pyne
4. Jason Finlay
5. Alex Leon