Darren Halse wins 2008 English national bodyboarding title

May 13, 2008 | Bodyboarding
Darren Halse: the 2008 English bodyboarding champion

Congratulations to Darren Halse, fresh from his giant killing in the Hawaii Pipe comp, he returns to competition taking the English National title in the Open and the Drop Knee.

In the Open division, Darren was pushed hard by fellow finalist's Damian Prisk, Jack Johns and Phil Milson. The Drop Knee was also very tight with Brad Hoult and Ollie Medland both with chances to win it. Aidan Salmon however, couldn't quite find his rhythm in the final.

Completing another double is Luke Brabyn taking out both the Under 18's and the Under 16's. Keeping it in the family was Luke's brother Sam, winning the Under 14's category.

It was great to see the women well represented this year with Jemma Knight just piping Clemi Hardy to the win.

Full results are below:

Open Bodyboard
1 Darren Halse
2 Damian Prisk
3 Jack Johns
4 Phil Milson

Bodyboard (Under 14)
1 Sam Brabyn
2 Joe Logg
3 Ed Hone
4 Ed Shurlock

Bodyboard (Under 18)
1 Luke Brabyn
2 Alex Wake
3 Joe Hone
4 Charlie Strang

Bodyboard (Under 16)
1 Luke Brabyn

Drop-knee Bodyboard
1 Darren Halse
2 Brad Hoult
3 Ollie Meddland
4 Aidan Salmon

Women Bodyboard
1 Jemma Knight
2 Clemi Hardy
3 Harriet Knight
4 Maisie Lawton

Source: British Bodyboard Club

The Surfing Christmas Gift Guide for 2020 | Explore our Christmas gift ideas for surfers

SurferToday.com uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more on our About section.