Darren Halse wins the South Coast Bodyboarding Classic

May 2, 2010 | Bodyboarding

Darren Halse: plenty of air time

The Agent18 South Coast Bodyboarding Classic will be embedded in many competitors minds for years to come. The final day saw 4 - 8ft waves with perfect offshore conditions at Margate Beach.

The good conditions made for an exceptional high level of riding and competitiveness. A true showcase of extreme bodyboarding as riders were putting it all on the line and going big.

Standouts for the event were Derek Footit (Uvongo), Darren Halse (Amanzimtoti), Wesley Fischer (Durban), Storm Prestwich (Scottburgh), Terence Pieters (Uvongo), Reinhardt du Toit (Richards Bay), Warren du Preez (Umtentweni) and Morgan Phillips (Southbroom).

The contest was run over 2 days and each day there were special prizes for different categories. Darren Halse (Amanzimtoti) walked away with the Factory 7 airrollspin of the day cash prize of R250 on day one and on day 2 it was Wesley Fischer (Durban). Derek Footit (Uvongo) walked off with the Jared Houston invert of the day on day 1 and R350 in his pocket as did Reinhardt du Toit (Richards Bay) on day 2.

Terence Pieters (Uvongo) was untouchable in the PowerBalance skimming contest against roughly 16 competitors. He took an easy win and a PowerBalance band worth R500.

Adam Morley (Mossel Bay) won the JFK Photography/PowerBalance expression session with a massive invert air.

Wipe Out of the contest went to Dane Klusener (Izotsha) sponsored by Gelati Cortina.

A big thank you goes out to all the sponsors namely Agent 18 Wetsuits, South Coast Tourism, PowerBalance, Lizzard, Factory 7, Nuform, Wakefields Estate Agency, Criss Cross Security, Wimpy Margate, JFK Photography, Gelati Cortina and Wavehouse Gateway who all together made up a grand total of cash and product prizes worth R125 000.


Boys: 1 Warren du Preez (Umtentweni) 2 Michael Mynhardt (Uvongo) 3 Wesley Coetzee (Margate) 4 Mickey Gomez (Hibberdene)

Juniors: 1 Storm Prestwich (Scottburgh) 2 Conrad Bernhardt (Margate) 3 Grant van der Wagen (Uvongo) 4 Adam Waites (Durban)

Ladies: 1 Natasha van Niekerk (Uvongo) 2 Kim Theron (Margate) 3 Jessica Towers (Uvongo)

Mens: 1 Giovann Muller (Ballito) 2 Rayner Venter (Scottburgh) 3 Wayne Beekman (Uvongo) 4 Michael Meyer (Cape Town)

Masters: 1 Morgan Phillips (Southbroom) 2 Dean Conway (Durban) 3 Martin Otto (Uvongo) 4 Kevin Williams (Uvongo)

Grandmasters: 1 Riaan Nutt (Margate)

DK: 1 Derek Footit (Uvongo) 2 Darren Halse (Amanzimtoti) 3 Reinhardt du Toit (Richards Bay) 4 Iain Campbell (Durban)

Pro: 1 Darren Halse (Amanzimtoti) 2 Wesley Fischer (Durban) 3 Reinhardt du Toit (Richards Bay) 4 Terence Pieters (Uvongo)