Firing barrels ignite the 2017 Mike Stewart Pipeline Invitational

February 27, 2017 | Bodyboarding
2017 Mike Stewart Pipeline Invitational: deep barrels, huge scores | Photo: Gonzo/APB

The first day of competition at the 2017 Mike Stewart Pipeline Invitational kicked off with perfect conditions, and barreling waves in the six-to-ten foot range, on the North Shore of Oahu.

The first event of the professional bodyboarding season mixed invitees, legends of the sport, and the top riders of the APB World Tour.

In the Men's division, Shayden Schrader would get the highest single wave score of the day for a spectacular air reverse worth a near-perfect 9.93 points from the judges.

The organizers managed to run the first three rounds, and the Hawaiian bodyboarders used the knowledge of the wave to progress through to Round 4. There are 16 local athletes in the round of 36.

In the drop-knee competition, Miles Kauhaahaa, from Maui, was able to break Dave Hubbard's dominance and took home this year's title. It was one of the best drop-knee finals of the decade.

On the women's side, Japanese powerhouse Ayaka Suzuki won the Pipeline Women's Invitational. It's her second consecutive win at Pipeline.

Ezra Hill, from Hawaii, conquered the Pro Junior division. He picked the best waves and was rewarded with perfect barrels.

"I'm super stoked and blessed to surf with four guys out at Pipe! I didn't expect on winning the Juniors final but really happy I got first and be part of this event! Much mahalos to all the sponsors and Mike Stewart for making this event happen!" expressed Hill.

2017 Pipeline Women's Invitational | Final

1. Ayaka Suzuki (JAP)
2. Valentina Diaz Langdon (CHI)
3. Jessica Becker (BRA)
4. Hiromi Takase (JAP)

2017 Pipeline Drop-Knee Invitational | Final

1. Miles Kauhaahaa (HAW), 18.50
2. Dave Hubbard (HAW), 16.77
3. Sammy Morretino (HAW), 13.10
4. Bud Miyamoto (HAW), 9.33

2017 Pipeline Pro Junior Invitational | Final

1. Ezra Hill (HAW)
2. Kawika Rohr-Kamai (HAW)
3. Gavin Pellkofer (USA)
4. Peyton Oda (HAW)
5. Adam Keoni Horswill (HAW)