Harsh bodyboarding conditions at Sun Coast Beach

September 30, 2010 | Bodyboarding

SABA: duck diver ahead, wacth out

The race for the provincial team event or "Fishman" trophy intensifies as the first of the Semi-finalists and Finalists of the 24th South African Bodyboarding Championships were announced today.

Both the Junior (U17) and Boy's (U14) division quarterfinalists competed in tough conditions in order to confirm their spots in the Semi-finals of this year's event. The Ladies division riders competed in their second round and determined the first four finalists of the event.

Contestants were greeted this on Wednesday morning, day 4 of the South African Bodyboarding Championships at Sun Coast Beach with pumping on shore winds. The swell seemed to have combined with the ocean currents to form a ragging torrent, making things very difficult for competitors out in the water. However, the sun was out and the water was refreshingly cool, making it a must for everyone to get into the water, if only for a swim.

School is out and the Sun Coast Beach is bustling with bikinis and board-shorts. These spectators were treated to a day of tough competition with extremely passionate team supporters. Supporters at times ran side by side with their competing team-mates, seeking a channel in the surf that might make the paddle a little easier.

The event drew to a close for the day after the last of the Junior Quarter Finals were completed. Everyone waited to see who the Semi Finalists would be and then retreated out of the wind for the remainder of the day. It has been a long four days for the competitors down on the beach and an afternoon of rest was exactly what they desired.


Heat 1
Niklas Martin (EP)
Wesley Coetzee (SKZN)
Ethan Koopmans (WP)
Francois Conradie (BOL)

Heat 2
Warren du Preez (SKZN)
Ian Viljoen (WP)
Dylan Le Roux (BOL)
Shaun Hagen (CKZN)


Heat 1
Storm Prestwich (SKZN)
Kyle Cabano (BOL)
Adam Waites (CKZN)
Andrew Raath (WP)

Heat 2
Grant van der Wagen (SKZN)
Matthew Fowle (WP)
Steven du Preez (CKZN)
Robbie Waites (CKZN)


Janneke de Kock (WP)
Michelle Steenkamp (NKZN)
Suzie Vester (NKZN)
Natasha van Niekerk (SKZN)

SurferToday uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. More info: