2017 Teahupoo Tahiti Challenge: the event will be remembered for its firing conditions | Photo: JBS

April 25, 2017, will forever be remembered as one of the most incredible days in the history of competitive bodyboarding.

The second day of competition of the 2017 Teahupoo Tahiti Challenge got underway in firing eight-to-twelve-foot waves at the End of the Road. There were breathtaking air drops and scary wipeouts.

The swell forecast indicated that giant surf would bless the world's best bodyboarders, and the Tahitian break didn't disappoint. Riders were invited to drop into steep walls of fast-moving water.

Local competitors once again dominated the Teahupoo beast in Round 2. Hitoti Henry, Nicolas Poilvet, Julien Miremont, Manea Fabisch, Angelo Faraire, and Nai Oliver won their elimination heats and moved through to Round 3.

Alex Uranga also got his revenge. After failing to win his Round 1 heat, the Spanish earned the first Perfect 10-point ride of the main event with a solid, deep barrel. In the end, Uranga nailed a two-wave total of 18.67 points.

In Round 3, defending event champion Jeff Hubbard fell at the hands of Australian sensation Paul Blaz, and Dudu Pedra kept raising the Brazilian flag high in the sky with yet another impressive performance in Teahupoo.

2017 Teahupoo Tahiti Challenge | Round 2 Results

Hitoti Henry (PYF) 16.67, Sacha Damjanic (CHI) 10.77
Manea Fabisch (PYF) 14.67, Eric Gomez (MOR) 12.77
Nicolas Poilvet (PYF) 11.10 Maxime Castillo (FRA) 7.50
Angelo Faraire (PYF) 14.83, Greg Howlett (AUS) 9.10
Laury Grenier (REU) 15.27, PJ Tarkat (PRI) 14.07
Alex Uranga (SPA) 18.67, Sacha Damjanic (CHI) 10.73
Dave Hubbard (HAW) 15.00, Tumuria Taerea (PYF) 11.47
Patrick Orr (HAW) 14.77, Alvino Tupuai (PYF) 4.43
Garth McGregor (AUS) 17.60, Rusty Friesen (USA) 16.50
Lewy Finnegan (AUS) 14.00, Cedric Estall (PYF) 4.83
Julien Miremont (PYF) 10.60, Sebastian Krefft (CHI) 7.90
Nai Oliver (PYF) 14.17, Jacob Romero (HAW) 14.00

2017 Teahupoo Tahiti Challenge | Round 3 Results

Dave Hubbard (HAW) 14.40, Martin Mouradian (GUA) 10.67
Jared Houston (RSA) 15.83, Laury Grenier (REU) 13.60
Nicolas Poilvet (PYF) 15.50, Tanner McDaniel (HAW) 15.20
Julien Miremont (PYF) 13.17, Manea Fabisch (PYF) 12.77
Alex Uranga (SPA) 16.17, Nai Oliver (PYF) 3.40
Patrick Orr (HAW) 17.83, Angelo Faraire (PYF) 15.07

2017 Teahupoo Tahiti Challenge | Round 3 Matchups

Lewy Finnegan (AUS) Nicolas Richard (PYF)
Mike Stewart (HAW) Ryan Gallina (HAW)
Garth McGregor (AUS) Thibault Casabianca (PYF)
Amaury Lavernhe (REU) Hitoti Henry (PYF)

Top Stories

Pedro Levi is on a mission to ride the biggest wave of all time on a bodyboard.

Pierre-Louis Costes and Morey Bodyboards signed a partnership and sponsorship deal. The French will ride for the American boogie board company.

The renaissance of the Morey Boogie brand is underway.

Ben Sawyer has taken out the 2024 Shark Island Challenge in Cronulla, near Sydney, New South Wales, Australia.