Iain Campbell claims the Arica Chilean Challenge 2016

July 10, 2016 | Bodyboarding
Iain Campbell: a maiden win in the APB World Tour | Photo: Jimenez/APB

Iain Campbell has taken out the Arica Chilean Challenge 2016, at Flopos, in Arica, Chile.

The South African won his maiden APB World Tour event after defeating Amaury Lavernhe in the final. Campbell, who had never been in a pro bodyboarding showdown, tamed the four-to-six-foot barreling waves and raised his flag in front hundreds of fans.

The young rider from Durban found deep tubes and finished his rides with an impressive air game. Iain Campbell missed the first two events, but with a victory in Chile, he climbs to fifth in the overall rankings.

"No words can describe how I'm feeling right now. I'm so stoked to be in a sport that breeds amazing sportsmanship. Yesterday, I was able to beat who I think is the best out at Flopos - Amaury Lavernhe. A true athlete and the most unbelievable sportsman. This moment will stay with me forever, and I can't believe I did it," expressed Campbell.

"This was an epic comp. Guys pushed the levels, and we saw some pretty crazy moments and scores being thrown down. I have always wanted to win this event but didn't think it would happen so soon!"

Isabela Sousa repeated the Itacoatiara final and result. The Brazilian continues her "revenge," with another solid display of bodyboarding. Sousa is undoubtedly the best bodyboarder in the world right now.

"Still ecstatic for what happened today. I am very happy to win the world tour stage here in Arica, Chile. Thank you, life!" added Isabela Sousa, who leads the 2016 APB Tour leaderboard.

In the Pro Junior Division, Tanner McDaniel dominated his opponents Hamed Cofre, Socrates Santana, and Joaquim Soto. The Hawaiian focused on his bodyboarding and let the scores speak for himself.

Arica Chilean Challenge 2016 | Finals

1. Iain Campbell (RSA), 18.00
2. Amaury Lavernhe (REU), 16.50

1. Isabela Sousa (BRA), 16.75
2. Sari Ohhara (JAP), 9.75

Pro Junior
1. Tanner McDaniel (HAW), 17.25
2. Hamed Cofre (CHI), 12.25
3. Socrates Santana (BRA), 11.25
4. Joaquim Soto (CHI), 10.25