Jack Harries rides to victory at Box Beach

March 16, 2015 | Bodyboarding
Scott Arena: he dominated the DK division | Photo: Ethan Smith/Surfing NSW

Jack Harries has won the Open Men's division of the 2015 NSW Bodyboard State Titles, held at Box Beach.

Despite the small two-foot waves, Jack Harries from Avoca showed a variety of innovative maneuvers to defeat fellow Central Coasters Jake Gibson, Lucas Magoney and local surfer Anthony Thurlow.

After nearly missing out on his Open Mens Drop Knee semi-final due to a late arrival, Aaron Glossop managed to take out the coveted final for a series of powerful turns. The southern Sydney surfer posted a heat total of 11.16 to get the edge over Mathew Sullivan, who claimed second position.

Joe Bourke added another accolade to his already massive resume taking out the Junior Men's (Under-18) division. The Central Coast bodyboarder locked in an impressive 15.5 heat total, which allowed him to take a narrow victory over Shayden Schrader.

Shauna Gillett showed why she was the 2014 Australian Champion, claiming the Open Women's final. Gillett took the win over France Hazar with a heat total of 13.0.

Central Coast Bodyboarder Club took out the free club challenge over five other respective clubs and as a result, took out the $250.00 purse. They will now go into the Kiama event as the top seed in the clubs challenge, from 1st-3rd May, 2015.

Total points from both rounds will be tallied and used to select the team to represent the state at the 2015 national titles, which will take place at the Australian Surf Festival in Coffs Harbour in August.

2015 NSW Bodyboard State Titles | Box Beach

Open Men
1. Jack Harries (Avoca)
2. Jake Gibson (Wamberal)
3. Anthony Thurlow (Nelson Bay)
4. Lucas Magoney (Toukley)

Senior Men (Over-23)
1. Scott Arena (Ettalong)
2. Mitch East (Sandy Beach)
3. Sean Lee (Bonville)
4. Martin Fowler (Adamstown Heights)

Junior Men (Under-18)
1. Joe Bourke (Copacabana)
2. Shayden Schrader (Port Macquarie)
3. Anthony Thurlow (Nelson Bay)
4. Darcy Bourke (Copacabana)

Open Drop-Knee
1. Aaron Glossop (Kurnell)
2. Mathew Sullivan (Coffs Harbour)
3. Zachary Armytage (Wombara)
4. Dilan Carestia (Maroubra)

Masters (Over-35)
1. Heath Werner (Toormina)
2. Greg Arnold (Avoca)
3. Luke Flipek (Port Macquarie)
4. Andrew Turnbridge (Surry Hills)

Grand Masters (Over-45)
1. Sean Leathers (Dorrigo)
2. Greg Chambers (Mona Vale)
3. France Hazar (Avalon)
4. Paul Mace (Elermore Vale)

Open Women
1. Shauna Gillett (Martinsville)
2. France Hazar (Avalon)

Junior Women
1. Sam Gillett (Martinsville)
2. Teigan Gillett (Martinsville)
3. Sophie Leathers (Dorrigo)

Cadets (Under-16)
1. James Doherty (Coogee)
2. Noah Gillroy (Botany)
3. Riley Carmody (Boat Harbour)
4. Harry Crain (Copacabana)

Groms (Under-14)
1. Noah Gillroy (Botany)
2. Tristian Sheedy (Medowie)
3. Jack Rodgers (Forster)
4. Clay Murphy (Windale)

SurferToday uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. More info: