Jeff Hubbard wins 2011 Zicatela Pro in Puerto Escondido

August 13, 2011 | Bodyboarding
Jeff Hubbard: bragging rights in Puerto Escondido

Jeff Hubbard has conquered the 2011 Zicatela Pro after beating Ryan Hardy, in epic wave bodyboarding conditions held in the primary venue of Puerto Escondido, in Mexico.

The final was battled in 10-to-15-foot sets breaking in with a jet ski assist. It was one of the best bodyboarding days ever surfed in the glorious South American peak.

Big swell, long period and inside super power close-outs. The main ingredients were cooked for an insane duel between two experienced big wave riders. It was a true Australia versus Hawaii gladiators battle.

Hubbard opened with the biggest air reverse of the entire event, in a scary white water bomb. Unfortunately for him, he could come out of the powerful foam: 5 points. Hardy answered with a smaller but completed wave: 4.5 points. The judges wanted big waves and big moves and the bodyboarders out in the line-up knew that.

After the initial waves, the final entered a lull period and few waves were ridden. As time passed by Hardy looked to improve his low scoring. He caught a medium-sized wave to equal things with Hubbard: 10.5. Unbelievable. The last six minutes got everybody cheering out in the beach.

Then, it was Hubbard's time. A huge inverted air changes things for his side. He could only claim it: 8.5 points.

Jeff Hubbard has taken the lead of the world rankings, stealing the first place from Brazilian bodyboarding veteran Guilherme Tâmega. Ryan Hardy has never won a world title, but he will certainly have a word until the end of the season. He owned The Box Pro and now reached the Mexican final.

In the Expression Session, Mike Stewart flew higher over Ben Player, Magno Oliveira and Glen Thurston in the infamous beach break. The IBA World Tour Grand Slam Series are packing their boards to Europe for the 2011 Sintra Pro, to be held in sunny Portugal.

2011 Agit/Turbo Zicatela Pro Puerto Escondido | Final

1. Jeff Hubbard (HAW) 14.00
2. Ryan Hardy (AUS): 10.50