Jeff Hubbard wins the SparkGreen Tahiti Challenge 2016

May 1, 2016 | Bodyboarding
Jeff Hubbard: the fourth bodyboarder to win at Teahupoo | Photo: Tabone/APB

Jeff Hubbard has taken out the SparkGreen Tahiti Challenge 2016, at Teahupoo.

The Hawaiian bodyboarder defeated local star Cédric Estall in the 30-minute final held in clean six-foot surf. Hubbard opened his game with a good ARS that earned him 7.00 points and then backed it up with a 6.43 wave.

Jeff Hubbard is the fourth rider to win a bodyboarding contest at The End of the Road. The first bodyboarder was Ryan Hard (2000), followed by Guilherme Tâmega (2001) and Damian King (2003 and 2004).

"The guys I to surf against are just nuts, so I just felt privileged to be out there with them, and to come up with a victory was special enough. It's a dream of mine for 20 years. Thank you to all the Tahitians," expressed Hubbard.

"Teahupoo is like Pipeline to me. It's one of my favorite places in the world. To win here is unbelievable. Cédric surfs here every day. He knows the lineup very well, so you just have to be confident and try to surf your best to see what happens.

In the consolation final, the 2015 APB Tour champion Jared Houston narrowly edged out Mike Stewart and took third place on the podium. The next event on the pro bodyboarding calendar is the Itacoatiara Pro, to be run in Niteroi, Brazil, from June 26th-226th.

SparkGreen Tahiti Challenge 2016 | Final

1. Jeff Hubbard (HAW), 13.43
2. Cédric Estall (TAH), 9.70

The Surfing Christmas Gift Guide for 2022 | Explore our Christmas gift ideas for surfers