Joe Bourke shows off in the 2014 NSW Bodyboard State Titles

May 5, 2014 | Bodyboarding
2014 NSW Bodyboard State Titles: long walls ahead

Joe Bourke triumphed in the first event of the 2014 NSW Bodyboard State Titles, held in clean and improved three-to-four foot conditions, at Jones Beach, Kiama.

After scoring a late entry into the Open Men division and seeing his brother Darcy Bourke take out the Junior Men final, Joe Bourke proceeded to tear apart his competition to claim victory.

The bodyboarder was able to perform a chain of aerial antics to net himself a 14.13 heat total to win the contest. Event standout Liam Gray put up a valiant effort, but ultimately had to settle for the runner-up spot with a heat total of 12.47 points.

In the Open Women division, Everline Mussi locked in an impressive 12.83 heat total to take a narrow win over Shauna Gillett who finished in the runner-up spot by less than 0.2 points.

In the Open Drop-Knee division, standout Corey O'Donnell managed to save his best until last when he threw down a series of risky and critical manoeuvres to snatch the title in the final 30 seconds of the heat.

Despite holding down the lead for the majority of the final, Martin Fowler had to settle for second when O'Donnell locked in a much-needed 7.33 wave score to claim the coveted title.

The second event of the 2014 NSW Bodyboard State Titles will be held in Harrington, later in the year. Total points from both events will be tallied and used to select a team to represent the state at the 2014 national titles, which will take place at the Australian Surf Festival, in Coffs Harbour in August.

2014 NSW Bodyboard State Titles | Jones Beach

Open Men
1. Joe Bourke (Copacabana)
2. Liam Gray (Dudley)
3. Angus Hoskins (Newport)
4. Simon Baker (Warriewood)

Open Women
1. Everline Mussi
2. Shauna Gillett (Martinsville)
3. Noriko Smith (Maroubra)

Open Drop-Knee
1. Corey O'Donnell (Copacabana)
2. Martin Fowler (Adamstown)
3. Mitchell Ashcroft (Sandy Beach)
4. Greg Arnold (Avoca)

The Summer Surf Gear Guide 2019