John Cruickshank prevails at 2019 Jeff Wilcox Memorial

July 30, 2019 | Bodyboarding
2019 Jeff Wilcox Memorial: splendid performance in solid conditions | Photo: PMBA

Johnny Cruickshank, Lilly Pollard, and Gary Thatcher have taken out the 2019 Jeff Wilcox Memorial, in Pacific Palms, Australia.

The first leg of the 2019 Memorial Triple Crown was held in spectacular conditions at New South Wales' Blueys Beach.

Eighty-five riders enjoyed two days of four-foot barreling waves peeling down the line at the famous beach break.

Veteran bodyboarder Lilly Pollard secured the win in the open women's division. John Cruickshank raised the event's trophy in both open men's and masters categories.

"What an epic weekend! I'm stoked to take the win but mostly stoked to share the finals with a bunch of legends," expressed Cruickshank.

Tobey Ring ended up winning both the juniors and cadets divisions.

"I am so unbelievably happy to have had the chance to come down here to the Central Coast. I'm especially over the moon because I'm the second person in 21 years to have taken out two divisions," added Ring.

The Memorial Triple Crown

The Memorial Triple Crown is a three-event series run by the Port Macquarie Bodyboarding Association.

It consists of three competitions: the Jeff Wilcox Memorial, the David "Goose" Gosby Memorial, and the Matt Baron Memorial.

The winner of the tournament takes home travel vouchers to Bali.

Jeff Wilcox was a talented bodyboarder and hockey player. He passed away aged 14 after courageously fighting an aggressive form of cancer.

In 1990, Andrew Capilli and Andrew Quirk held the first memorial event in his honor, and it soon became one of the most respected, and prestigious bodyboarding contests on the planet.

2019 Jeff Wilcox Memorial: Lilly Pollard won the open women's division | Photo: PMBA

2019 Jeff Wilcox Memorial | Results

Open Men
1. John Cruickshank
2. Shayden Schrader
3. Liam Lucus
4. James Nymeyer

Open Women
1. Lilly Pollard
2. Eveline Mussi
3. France Hazar
4. Britt Ladley

1. Gary Thatcher
2. Jake Sharp
3. Thomas Donnelly
4. Hayato Enokido

1. Tobey Ring
2. Hayden Cruickshank
3. Noah Gillroy
4. Sam Giddy

1. Tobey Ring
2. Sam Giddy
3. Brandyn Cruickshank
4. Harry Twomey

1. John Cruickshank
2. Dan Kirkman
3. Shaun Petersen
4. Mitch East

The Summer Surf Gear Guide 2021