Kyle Ward crowned 2015 Western Australia bodyboarding champion

May 25, 2015 | Bodyboarding
Kyle Ward: your new Western Australia bodyboarding champion | Photo: Surfing WA/Woolacott

Kyle Ward has been crowned the 2015 Western Australia bodyboarding champion, after triumphing at Pyramids Beach, Mandurah.

Ward confirmed a back-to-back victory in the SunSmart WA Bodyboard Titles, before the third and final event in Perth. The bodyboarder from Joondalup drew the best lines and pulled off the most committed manoeuvres to defeat Jordan Ihms, Noah Symmans and Nathan Hutchins.

"I was a little nervous going up against all the younger groms in the final, but just stuck to my guns. I caught the waves I needed to and I'm stoked to be crowned the State Champion here in front of my family who came to support me," expressed Kyle Ward.

In the Under-18 Junior Men's division, Noah Symmans used his off-axis flips and spins to take the win over Nathan Hutchins, Josh Peters, and Kai Fedodorov. Symmans is the new champion.

"The waves were great today and really consistent. I'm really stoked to have won the State Title and can now start to focus on the Australian Titles in Coffs Harbour later this year," added Symmans.

With a total of six State Bodyboard Titles still in contention, the third and final event of the SunSmart WA Bodyboard Titles will be held on the 4th and 5th of July to decide who will go on to represent Western Australia in Coffs Harbour, NSW in August for the 2015 National Titles.

SunSmart WA Bodyboard Titles 2015 | Round 2 Results

Open Men
1. Kyle Ward (Joondalup) 14.83pts
2. Jordyn Ihms (Falcon) 11.87pts
3. Noah Symmans (Albany) 11.70pts
4. Nathan Hutchins (Ocean Reef) 9.60pts.
State Champion: Kyle Ward

U/21 Pro Junior
1. Blake Gerrard (Mindarie) 15.50pts
2. Josh Peters (Duncraig) 11.77pts
3. Michael Sumner (Marmion) 10.84pts
4. Ashden Garrett (Margaret River) 8.27pts.

U/18 Junior Men
1. Noah Symmans (Albany) 13.76pts
2. Nathan Hutchins (Ocean Reef) 13.20pts
3. Josh Peters (Duncraig) 10.90pts
4. Kai Feodorov (Madora Bay) 10.36pts.
State Champion: Noah Symmans

U/16 Cadet Boys
1. Brad Harrington (Singleton) 14.77pts
2. Matt Hanks (Mandurah) 13.23pts
3. Henry Gibson (Falcon) 11.33pts
4. Tom Todaro (Geraldton) 10.90pts.

U/14 Grommet Boys
1. Ben Vigors (Geraldton) 13.66pts
2. Paddy McAullife (Fremantle) 8.83pts
3. Patrick Fraklyn (Palmyra) 8.56pts
4. Dan Donovan (Scarborough) 6.80pts

1. Mark Boehm (Marangaroo) 10.73pts

O/35 Masters Men
1. Clayton Pickworth (Parkwood) 5.97pts