Lewy Finnegan wins the Australian Indian stage of the 2015 FSB World Tour

July 31, 2015 | Bodyboarding
Lewy Finnegan: crazy rides | Photo: Chris Gurney

Lewy Finnegan has beat all his opponents to claim the Australian-Indian stage of the 2015 Free Surf Bodyboarding World Tour.

The cheeky young gun from Western Australia delivered an incredible one-minute highlight reel of massive barrels and super technical aerial maneuvers, including an eight-foot high backflip.

Finnegan has been chasing big waves around the coastline of Australia, as well as competing on the 2015 APB World Bodyboarding Tour. His skills were perfectly captured by his talented filming team Tom Jennings and Stricko.

"It has been a really fun event to chase footage for, with my good friend Tom, and I'm stoked with the waves we scored and the outcome of our one-minute clip. I've never been so amped to try and get footage before in my life," explained Finnegan.

"It was obviously impossible to squish it all into the one-minute, but we basically picked some of the best footage we got in the month that the competition was running and slapped together an edit to try and get people amped. With all the other footage we couldn't fit, we're going to be releasing a full-length online section in a few weeks for everyone to see."

The bodyboarder from Perth collected 34.4 percent of the votes and won the Australian-Indian contest by a huge margin over his rivals in both the public and judges vote.

​"Lewy is shredding and his clip was very well rounded - spinning into pits, boosting and charging hard. He showed all the different incredible aspects of bodyboarding being both technical and stylish. Solid effort," underlined FSB judge Chris White.

Harley Ward, from Tasmania, claimed second place in the event by the narrowest of margins with a vote of 16.88 percent compared to Davis Blackwell with 16.56 percent. All three riders now move onto the FSB World Finals, in late 2015.

2015 Free Surf Bodyboarding World Tour | Australia/Pacific Results

1. Lewy Finnegan
2. Harley Ward
3. Davis Blackwell
4. Damien Martin
5. Kim Feast
6. Paul Blaz
7. Matt Young
8. Sophian Manik, Ephrem Ezz, Josh Belchambers, and Callum Layton