Science Bodyboard Hawaii Regional Tour: drop knee showdown

Sammy Morretino is the bodyboarder under the spotlight at the 2012 Science Bodyboard Hawaii Regional Tour. The final event was surfed in great wave conditions, at Shipwrecks.

The stoke was in the air as the frothing youth from around the state battled it out for free entry to the US Open event and free airfare to the Sandy Beach Pro/Am in July.

The prestigious Open division was clearly dominated by Sammy "The Mercat" Morretino, who had a stiff competition from runner up Kahekili Labette.

It was Sammy who really impressed the judges with a variety in his bodyboarding, not seen by other competitors. Rounding out the division finals were Brandon Buza and Tanny McDaniel, in third and fourth position.

The 13-18 Amateur division had much of the same with Sammy once again taking out the field with local knowledge. Kahekili once again placed second with big flips and Abe Balmores was right behind him, with a narrow count back for the runner up spot. Eli Duar finishing fourth respectivley.

The Under-12 was all about redemption, as Calvin Cerrone who lost out the week prior, at his home break at Banyans, came back at Shipwrecks with a vengeance to take the division in Kauai.

All youth in Hawaii promise a lot, but Calvin seems to be the one turning heads from island to island, each event. Kauai's Noah Schmidt did very well and placed second followed by Lanakila Dusentorme, Marc Bennet and Sage Rasmusen.

Women were the talk of the town with a great performance, in an all Kauaian final. Asley Hori won her first ever Science Hawaii Regional event, followed by Avery Rowen, Kanesa Sepaphin and Casandara Silva.

The day finished with Drop-Knee and Stand Up divisions, where Brandon Buza narrowly edged out Sammy Morrentino. It was Noah Howitt who really showed skills in the Stand Up division.

Stand Up

1. Noah Howitt
2. Sammy Morretino
3. Kaikea Ales
4. Gabriel Pinherio

Drop Knee

1. Brand Buza
2. Sammy Morretino
3. Pohaku Kekualua
4. Denis Jose


1. Sammy Morretino
2. Kahekili Labette
3. Abe Balmores
4. Eli Duar


1. Sammy Morretino
2. Kahekili Labette
3. Brandon Buza
4. Tanner McDaniel

12 and Under

1. Calvin Cerrone
2. Noah Schmidt
3. Lanakila Defontorum
4. Marc Bennet
5. Sage Ramusen

Top Stories

The 2023 Australian Bodyboard Titles concluded at North Haven in Port Macquarie, the capital of Australian bodyboarding.