Sammy Morretino: three bodyboarding titles in one season | Photo: Tyler Rock/IBA Hawaii

Sammy Morretino has been crowned the 2015 Kellogg's IBA Hawaii Bodyboarding Tour grand champion.

The young rider from Kauai wrote a new chapter for the sport in the Hawaiian Islands. Morretino is the first bodyboarder ever to win all three division titles: Pro Men, Drop-Knee and Stand-Up. A clean sheet for the talented grom.

In the last event of the season - the 662 Ride Shop Westside Challenge - competitors enjoyed six-foot-plus surf at Keaau, on the west coast of Oahu.

Interestingly, the man of the year did not win a single event in the Pro Men's category. However, Sammy Morretino collected enough points to steal the trophy from his opponents, with top class performances in all stages.

Kawika Rohr-Kamai won two events and finished runner-up in another stage, so he was crowned the Hawaiian Junior champion. Karla Costa Taylor and Melanie Bartels fought hard in the Women's division, but it has Taylor who conquered the series. Pat Caldwell, the legend, won the Masters competition.

The 2015 Kellogg's IBA Hawaii Bodyboarding Tour champions will earn a ticket into the main event of the 2016 Mike Stewart Pipeline Invitational.

2015 Kellogg's IBA Hawaii Bodyboarding Tour | Champions

Pro Men: Sammy Morretino
Women: Karla Costa Taylor
Junior: Kawika Rohr-Kamai
Drop-Knee: Sammy Morretino
Stand-Up: Sammy Morretino
Master: Pat Caldwell

Keahi Parker: he won the last event of the season | Photo: Tyler Rock/IBA Hawaii

Top Stories

Pedro Levi is on a mission to ride the biggest wave of all time on a bodyboard.

Pierre-Louis Costes and Morey Bodyboards signed a partnership and sponsorship deal. The French will ride for the American boogie board company.

The renaissance of the Morey Boogie brand is underway.