Sócrates Santana crowned 2018 Brazilian bodyboarding champion

November 23, 2018 | Bodyboarding
Sócrates Santana: he is bringing the Brazilian bodyboarding title to Rio de Janeiro after 20 years | Photo: Rodrigues/CBRASB

Sócrates Santana and Maira Viana have taken out the 2018 Brazilian bodyboarding titles.

Brazil has always produced some of the best bodyboarders in the world.

Guilherme Tâmega, Paulo Barcelos, Uri Valadão, Stephanie Pettersen, Glenda Kozlowski, Claudia Ferrari, Neymara Carvalho, Isabela Sousa, Daniela Freitas, Mariana Nogueira, Karla Costa, and Soraia Rocha have all been crowned world champions.

However, it is rare to hear from Brazil, especially when it comes to the national competitive circuit run by the Brazilian Bodyboarding Confederation (CBRASB).

The good news is that CBRASB improved its communications with the outside world, and it is now possible to follow all the action and receive all tour updates.

In the women's category, Maira Viana celebrated her first Brazilian bodyboarding title after finishing runner-up in Ceará Terra do Sol Bodyboarding, the last event of the season.

Maira Viana: she won her first Brazilian bodyboarding title | Photo: Rodrigues/CBRASB

"I feel blessed to surf in a highly competitive tour alongside world champions. That only magnifies my achievement," said Viana.

"I knew it was up to me, but I needed to be focused. I have been improving throughout the year, and I have been able to get to the podium in all stages. This victory is special."

Two-time pro junior world champion, Socrates Santana made history by winning for the professional division for the first time, bringing the title back to Rio de Janeiro after almost twenty years.

"I'm stoked to bring this long-awaited title home. I was kicked out of this contest early, so I felt a little bit stressed out. I want to thank the people here in Ceará for their support and congratulate the whole organization of the event," expressed Santana.

2018 CBRASB | National Champions

Pro Men: Sócrates Santana (RJ)
Pro Women: Maira Viana (ES)
Open Men: Luan Tavares (RJ)
Open Women: Luna Hardman (ES)
Under 18 Men: Caio Reis (ES)
Masters 35+: Romulo Ornelas (BA)