Tand Invitational announces 2018 roster

July 10, 2018 | Bodyboarding
Sacha Specker: he is ready to conquer the 2018 Tand Invitational

The draw for the 2018 Digicape Tand Invitational has been revealed. There are former world champions in the elite list.

One of the world’s biggest and boldest bodyboarding competitions on the planet is back. The 2018 Tand Invitational is ready to kick off, and the waiting period runs from July 6-31.

The main heat draw signals the start of this window period, with pre-qualified riders entered into a draw where they are randomly assigned to one of the four quarter-final heats.

The date of the competition will only be announced two or three days beforehand, when ocean conditions are ascertained as ideal for riders.

Named after the Cape Columbine’s devilish "Tand" wave, the Digicape Tand Invitational is an exclusive by-invitation-only competition, where 16 of the world’s most talented riders are invited to compete against this formidable force of nature.

Riders stand a chance of taking home the sought-after title of 2018 Tand champion and R18,000 in prize money from the total purse of R30,000.

The New Team Format

This year, the organization has made a few changes to the competition format. Four teams have been established from the pool of competitors: Locals, Legends, Young Guns and Mixed Bag.

Each quarter-final heat consists of four riders, and these riders are drawn from each of the four teams to ultimately make up a heat that consists of one Local, Legend, Young Gun and Mixed Bag team member.

As each rider progresses through the competition, they also garner points for their respective teams, thus creating an overall winning team.

"The new format has no impact on the overall event program, but adds a new dimension of excitement for competitors and spectators alike," notes Jarret Johnson, founder of the Tand Invitational.

"When the final buzzer is blown, not only will we announce this year's Tand champion, but also the overall winning team. Fans can expect a lot of action-packed entertainment from our fantastic contingent of local and international riders."

2018 Digicape Tand Invitational | Heat Draw

Heat 1
1. Matthew "Mafoos" Lombard
2. Corban Warrington
3. Mark McCarthy
4. Luke Kitchin

Heat 2
1. Henk Esterhuysen
2. Charles Pass
3. Andre Botha
4. Robbie Berman

Heat 3
1. Beyers van der Merwe
2. Pamela Bowren
3. Daniel Worsley
4. Tristan Roberts

Heat 4
1. Tomas Degenaar
2. Iain Campbell
3. Sacha Specker
4. Wilder Schultz