The 24 bodyboarders of the 2013 IBA Grand Slam Series

December 18, 2012 | Bodyboarding
IBA World Tour: the eye of the wave

The 2013 IBA World Tour will kick-off with the Pipeline Pro, from the 16th February, in Hawaii. Who will be surfing in the bodyboarding elite club?

Jeff Hubbard will be defending his third world bodyboarding title, in home waters. The truth is that he has already won four Pipeline Pro trophies in his career.

The last event of the 2012 IBA World Tour saw decisive nerve-wracking heats being played for those wanting to qualify or requalify for the upcoming Grand Slam Series.

One thing is certain: Mike Stewart is lined-up for the 2013 IBA World Tour. At the age of 48, the six-foot bodyboarder born in Hawaii is seeded in 10th place for the 2013 IBA Grand Slam Series.

Eder Luciano is the last of the top 16 seeds, from the 2012 season. Brahim Iddouch makes history for Morocco, as he is the first rider from the Global Qualifying Series making to join the group of 24 bodyboarders.

Nick Ormerod, from Australia, is the last charger completing the 2013 IBA Grand Slam Series' list of competitors. Check the 2013 IBA World Tour schedule.

2012 Top 16 Seeds

1. Jeff Hubbard (HAW)
2. Dave Winchester (AUS)
3. Pierre-Louis Costes (FRA)
4. Guilherme Tamega (BRA)
5. Jared Houston (ZAF)
6. Mark McCarthy (ZAF)
7. Mitch Rawlns (AUS)
8. Ben Player (AUS)
9.  Amaury Lavernhe (REU)
10.  Mike Stewart (HAW)
11.  Andrew Lester (AUS)
12.  Magno Passos (BRA)
13.  Uri Valadao (BRA)
14.  Alex Uranga (ESK)
15.  Sam Bennet (AUS)
16.  Eder Luciano (BRA)

2012 Top 8 Global Qualifying Series

1. Brahim Iddouch (MOR)
2. Damian King (AUS)
3. Sacha Specker (ZAF)
4. Yoan Florantin (REU)
5. Alan Munoz (CHL)
6. Jones Russell (AUS)
7. Jacob Romero (HAW)
8. Nick Ormerod (AUS)

The Surfing Christmas Gift Guide for 2021 | Explore our Christmas gift ideas for surfers