The IBA Tour heads to the Viana Pro in Portugal

August 11, 2009 | Bodyboarding

2009 Viana Pro in Portugal

The next event on the IBA World Men’s Tour gets underway in Portugal this Thursday, kicking off a 5 event European leg known as E5’09.

The Viana Pro will launch the richest leg of the IBA Tour in 2009 with over US$150,000 up for grabs.

The check in for the event will be held between 9am – 5pm tomorrow (Wednesday 12th August) at the event site and riders are warned that a failure to notify officials or your intentions to compete will result in a loss of seeding position.

The city of Viana is a seaside holiday haven with a river running through the middle and a picturesque mountain range that meets the ocean. It’s a clean and well-planned city that is perfect for anyone wishing to come to Europe for a holiday.

The airport at Porto is state of the art and has flights that gone to most destinations world-wide.

The surf here is a multitude of beach-breaks with a selection of reefs that handle bigger swells.

The 2009 Viana Pro has a unique theme. It was 15 years ago that the first GOB event was surfed  outside of Hawaii and both Mike Stewart and Guilherme Tamega fought out a great final in front of thousands of spectators.

In 2009 the same two guys are sitting at 1st and 2nd on the current ratings and the script could not have been written better in Hollywood for a return battle.

Mike Stewart is coming off a win in the Arica Chilean Challenge and is great form at 46 years of age.

“ I can’t wait to get back to Viana” said Mike.

“It’s a beautiful city with friendly people and some fun waves so it will be great to see everyone again”

Competition gets underway on Thursday at 8am.


Uri Valadao
Jorge E Colomer
Jason Bitzer
Damian King
Dave Hubbard
Jeff Hubbard
Mike Stewart
Guilherme Tâmega
Luis Villar
Eder Luciano
Felipe Mendes
Lucas Nogueira
Jacob Romero
Stephan Stamm
Ardiel Jimenez
Eder Luciano
Felipe Mendes
Ivan Hernandez
Vilan Landeiro


Rui Ferreira
Gastão Entrudo
Hugo Pinheiro
Manel Centeno
Nuno Azevedo
Ricardo Rico
João Barciela
João Santos
João Neiva
Rui Mendes
João Pinheiro
Luis Pereira
Jaime Jesus
Nuno Trovão
Pedro Meira
Ricardo Rico
Filipe Ferreira
Nuno Silva
João "Stopani" Santos
Rui Mendes
Rui Pereira
André da Silva
António Azevedo
António Cardoso
Bernardo Machado
Daniel Ferreira

SurferToday uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. More info: