Wesley Fischer wins the 2010 Sport Unlimited Cape Classic

March 23, 2010 | Bodyboarding

Wes Fisher: king of white water bodybaording

The second and final day of the 2010 Sport Unlimited Cape Classic, presented by Reef Wetsuits and Science Bodyboards, got underway in icy, inconsistent surf at the Hoek in Noordhoek on Monday 22 March 2010. The backdrop was one of cloud and wind but the sandbanks didn't fail in dishing up some highly contestable 2 footers as the day wore on.

Once the nitty-gritty of the remaining heats were settled and the finals began to get announced, the crowd got into the spirit and started hooting as the lead in heats seemed to sway regularly. The event was once again well-attended and the crowd listened to talks and checked out displays setup by the Save Our Seas Foundation before taking up various positions along the rocks.

We would like to extend our thanks to Cape Nature for their cooperation in helping us run a successful event. The contest was held alongside a sensitive marine and fynbos ecosystem and the men from Cape Nature were quick to educate spectators on the do's and don'ts of the location.

Worth another special mention is Tristan Roberts' outstanding performance in the Boys division. He ripped again today and the crowd took note of this future star.

Janneke De Kock posted one of the highest scores of the day in her Ladies final with a combined heat tally of 15. Ian Kruger and Wes Fischer went head to head and exchanged the lead in their Pro final a few times while Darren Halse and Terence Pieters couldn’t get the waves that counted. Kruger’s mastery of the tube proved not enough in comparison to Wes’s flips, using critical sections and attested to his undoing.

Aden Kleve absolutely destroyed his DK final and was welcomed back up the shore to rupturing cheers from his local breaks supporters. Eugene Meyer dominated his Mens heats all weekend and it was no surprise to see him take the Mens final in style even though it was a final of rolls.

Likewise Storm Prestwich cleaned up his Juniors final with Andrew Raath unlucky to get an interference call deep into the heat, but he showed good spirit and competed valiantly until the end. Ross Painter and Sean Tickner fought hard over their Masters title and it was great to see Grand Masters get the best set of the day. Marcel Habets ended up taking it from Len Bradford in the late afternoon glare.

Prize giving for the event took place in the parking lot directly after the last of the finals had been run with riders and spectators on hand to celebrate the various victories. All in all the contest can be hailed as a success and WPBA would like to thank everyone who helped behind the scenes to make it such a success.

We would once again like to extend our sincerest thanks to our sponsors: Sport Unlimited, Reef Wetsuits, Science Bodyboards, Havaianas and Save Our Seas Foundation.

Final results are as follows:

1st Wesley Fischer
2nd Ian Kruger
3rd Darren Halse
4th Terence Pieters

1st Tristan Roberts
2nd Niklas Martin
3rd Wilder Shultz
4th Wesley Coetzee

1st Storm Prestwich
2nd Andrew Raath
3rd Matthew Lombaard
4th Jason Fowler

1st Eugene Meyer
2nd Michael Meyer
3rd Brandon Herbst
4th Jamie Higgins

1st Janneke De Kock
2nd Suzi Vester
3rd Nikki Gericke
4th Michelle Steenkamp

1st Aden Kleve
2nd Ian Campbell
3rd Stuart Bradford
4th Matthew Webster

1st Ross Painter
2nd Sean Tickner
3rd Melvin Victor
4th Robert Scott

Grand Masters:
1st Marcel Habets
2nd Len Bradford