Mitch Rawlins continued his domination of the 2008 Human Pro Tour with another win in fun sized peaks at Logan’s Beach, Warrnambool, Victoria, taking out the Coastal Real Estate Pro presented by Southern Guns surfshop.

His competitive savvy was pushed to the limit by West Australian Chad Jackson who surprised a lot of spectators with his small wave riding technique notching up some of the highest scores of the day.

Third place went to Sydney bodyboarder Dave Winchester who peaked early with his mind blowing semi-final performance. Victoria’s best competitive Bodyboarder Jayden Hunt finished in fourth.

“I wasn’t sure who won that final to tell you the truth” said Rawlins. “It must have been so close between me and Winny and Chad. I did get one wider one that went all the way to shore and I stalled and got a sick little tube that went for heaps…It was fun out there”.

Read more ...

Congratulations to Darren Halse, fresh from his giant killing in the Hawaii Pipe comp, he returns to competition taking the English National title in the Open and the Drop Knee.

In the Open division, Darren was pushed hard by fellow finalist's Damian Prisk, Jack Johns and Phil Milson. The Drop Knee was also very tight with Brad Hoult and Ollie Medland both with chances to win it. Aidan Salmon however, couldn't quite find his rhythm in the final.

Completing another double is Luke Brabyn taking out both the Under 18's and the Under 16's. Keeping it in the family was Luke's brother Sam, winning the Under 14's category.

Read more ...

After a successful trio of events in Qld and Newcastle, The Human Pro Bodyboard Tour for 2008 will head South to the infamous Victorian town of Warrnambool on May 24th & 25th.

Last year the venue dished up the best conditions on tour and an army of competitors will be converging on the Holiday hamlet for the two day event with high expectations. Locals Jarran Milne and Zeb McKinnon believe that the conditions are shaping up well and that as long as the swell and winds combine the banks are as good as ever and will dish up the goods.

For those flying into the event the best way to get there is with Jetstar via Avalon (Vic) Only Jetstar use this airport and it’s a lot closer to Warrnambool (about 1.20 mins) by car. Otherwise there are buses that go from Avalon Airport to Warrnambool. There is lots of accommodation within close proximity to the contest area and there is a back-packers for the budget conscious.

Please note that there will be no DK at this event. Just Pro men and Pro Women. The Victorian State titles will also be run in conjunction with the event. 

There will be an entry fee of $44 for State competitors and that will be the only cost incurred. Surfing Victoria are running the event and taking the entries so please get your entry in early! They will not put up with phone entries and last minute inclusions.

Beach entries to fill vacant spots will be available on Saturday morning but no promises that you will get in. This event will determine the Victorian Team for the Human National Titles to be held at Port MacQuarie from September 15th – 21st.

Source: IBA Australasia