When do the seasons start and end?

The four seasons: spring, summer, fall and winter | Photo: Shutterstock

Did you know that seasons are not the same for everyone? Have you ever heard of the six-season calendar?

Yes, the dates of when spring, summer, fall/autumn, and winter begin and end depend on anyone's perspective and nationality.

It is fair to recognize, though, that each season has its specific weather pattern, average air temperature, and length of daylight; nature also changes accordingly.

However, seasons aren't the same for meteorologists, astronomers, people living in the northern and southern hemispheres, and south asian citizens. But why is that the case?

The most widely used civil calendar in the planet is the Gregorian calendar. And for a large number of countries that have adopted them, the beginning and end of seasons take place based on astronomical timings.

Spring and summer: the warmer seasons | Photo: Shutterstock

As a result, nowadays, the most common equinox and solstice dates are March 20 (spring), June 21 (summer), September 22 or 23 (fall/autumn) and December 21 (winter). That's the four-season calendar.

However, when it comes to defining the beginning and the end of seasons, not all countries adopt a universal standard. You'll find northern and southern hemisphere nuances, as well as regional and national differences.

In Australia and New Zealand, each season starts on the first day of the calendar month. They follow the meteorological method - as opposed to the astronomical method adopted in North American and Europe - based on surface air temperatures.

In South Asia, the scenario changes dramatically. Many nations adopt a six-season calendar which comprises of spring, summer, monsoon, autumn, early winter/late autumn, and late winter/winter.

Last but not least, a few tropical countries adopted two seasons: the monsoon, wet or rainy season, and the dry season.

In conclusion, only North America and Europe set a Universal Time (UT) for the start and end of their four seasons, even if it has to be realigned occasionally in leap years.

When do spring, summer, fall, and winter start and end?

Fall and winter: the colder seasons | Photo: Shutterstock

Seasons Throughout the World | Start and End Dates (2020/2021)

North America & Europe (Except Ireland and Russia)

Summer 2020: June 20 (9:44 pm) > September 22 (1:30 pm)
Fall/Autumn 2020: September 22 (1:31 pm) > December 21 (10:01 am)
Winter 2020/2021: December 21 (10:02 am) > March 20 (9:36 am)
Spring 2021: March 20 (9:37 am) > June 21 (3:31 am)

Ireland & Russia

Spring: March 1 > May 31
Summer: June 1 > August 31
Fall/Autumn: September 1 > November 30
Winter: December 1 > February 28/29

Australia & New Zealand

Spring: September 1 > November 30
Summer: December 1 > February 28/29
Fall/Autumn: March 1 > May 31
Winter: June 1 > August 31

South Asia

Hindu Season

Spring (Vasanta): Mid-March > Mid-May
Summer (Greeshma): Mid-May > Mid-July
Monsoon (Varsha): Mid-July > Mid-September
Autumn (Sharad): Mid-September > Mid-November
Early Winter (Hemanta): Mid-November > Mid-January
Late Winter (Shishira): Mid-January > Mid-March


Spring (Bosonto): Mid-February > Mid-April
Summer (Grishmo): Mid-April > Mid-June
Monsoon (Borsha): Mid-June > Mid-August
Autumn (Shorot): Mid-August > Mid-October
Late Autumn (Hemonto): Mid-October > Mid-December
Winter (Sit): Mid-December > Mid-February

  • A sun dog, or sundog, is a natural optical phenomenon consisting of one or two colored luminous spots appearing on either side of the Sun.
  • Every year, nonprofit environmental organization Heal the Bay assigns A-to-F letter grades to beaches along the California coast.
  • A heat wave, or heatwave, is a period of two or more consecutive days with apparent temperatures exceeding 105°F to 110°F (40°C to 43°C) on National Weather Service's Heat Index.
  • Have you ever wondered how a beach is formed? The formation of sand strips is a long process that involves minerals, water, wind, waves, and tides.