Daniela Moroz: she has been nominanted for World Sailor of the Year 2018 | Photo: Aarhus 2018

Daniela Moroz is one of the five female sailors nominated for the Rolex World Sailor of the Year 2018 awards.

The American kiteboarder has been shortlisted alongside Caterina Banti (2018 Nacra 17 world champion), Carolijn Brouwer and Marie Riou (Volvo Ocean Race winners), and Wendy Tuck (Clipper Round the World Race winning skipper).

Moroz stormed the 2018 Formula Kiteboarding World Championship in Aarhus, Denmark. She won 14 of the 15 races sailed, and claimed the gold medal for the third consecutive time.

The 17-year-old kiteboarder also stole the show at the European Championships winning 13 of the 14 races.

Daniela Moroz is quickly becoming the fastest and most experienced kite foiler of her generation, and the nomination for World Sailor of the Year by World Sailing comes as no surprise.

The winners will be announced on October 30, 2018, at the World Sailing Awards Ceremony in Sarasota, Florida, United States.

2018 Rolex World Sailor of the Year Awards | Nominees

Female Sailors
Caterina Banti (ITA): 2018 Nacra 17 world champion
Carolijn Brouwer (NED) / Marie Riou (FRA): Volvo Ocean Race winners
Daniela Moroz (USA): 2018 Formula Kiteboarding world champion
Wendy Tuck (AUS): Clipper Round the World Race winning skipper

Male Sailors
Charles Caudrelier (FRA): Volvo Ocean Race winning skipper
Sime and Mihovil Fantela (CRO): 2018 49er world champions
Pavlos Kontides (CYP): 2018 Laser world champion
Dorian van Rijsselberghe (NED): 2018 Men's RS:X world champion
Ruggero Tita (ITA): 2018 Nacra 17 world champion

Brad Spencer, Annissa Flynn, and Daniel Tarapchak have taken out the 2018 World Flowboarding Championships, in Punta Cana, Dominican Republic.

+ Surfing News