Andy Yates: the first of many titles

Andy Yates is the 2010 Professional Kiteboard Riders Association (PKRA) Freestyle champion. The rider from Australia has conquered the world kiteboarding title for the first time in his career.

Yates secured victory in Noumea, New Caledonia, after losing the first winner’s final heat in a 3/2 judge’s decision in favor of Youri Zoon. In the second final round, Yates was clearly better and took a 4/1 judge’s decision in his favor, in front of a cheering crowd.

Other standouts were Alex Pastor and local boy Tom Hebert. In the women's freestyle division, the Brazilian kiteboarder Bruna Kajiya defeated Johara Sykes-Davies by executing really nice tricks such as a huge slim chance and switch blind judge.

Kajiya only lost to Gisela Pulido in the semi final. Karolina Winkowska took the first place, but the Spanish rider was declared the 2010 PKRA Women’s Freestyle champion


1. Andy Yates (Slingshot, AUS)
2. Youri Zoon (Slingshot, NED)
3. Tom Hebert (Airush, NCL)

1. Karolina Winkowska (Slingshot, POL)
2. Gisela Pulido (Airush, ESP)
3. Bruna Kajiya (Flexifoil, BRA)

2010 PKRA Freestyle champions:

Andy Yates
Gisela Pulido

Waves are constantly breaking all over the world, and if you're on a surf trip or family vacations it's always good to know you can rent a surfboard anywhere there's a gem to be ridden.

+ Surfing News

Thirty Formula GPS kiteboarders battled it out on the mountains of the Alto Sangro, Italy, for the second leg of 2018 IKA Snowkite World Cup.

+ Kiteboarding News

Brad Domke calls Cylinders his home. He's been riding it for more than a decade. But you've never seen him in board transfers like these.

+ Skimboarding News