Aaron Hadlow and Bruna Kajiya win the 2009 PKRA Fuerteventura

July 23, 2009 | Kiteboarding

2009 PKRA Fuerteventura

The final day of the Fuerteventura PKRA Kiteboarding Grand Slam 2009 was a treat, especially for the crowds watching on the beach.  Sunny and warm weather prevailed the whole day with winds ranging between 20 and 25 knots.

The day’s event which was a kiteloop contest, capped the end of the 5-day kiteboarding competition which started last Sunday. The kiteloop contest involves doing the most powered, highest and technical kiteloop.

The elimination round was divided into eight heats where the top two winners advanced to round two. Winners of the 2nd round then met at the finals.

The crowd enjoyed watching some great loops as well as great crashes during the heats which started at around 2:00 pm with some very strong winds. Most of the competitors were on their 7 to 11-meter kites. The event wrapped up at around 4:30 pm after which an awards ceremony of the top four was held at the beach.

Kiteloop Contest Results:

1st – Aaron Hadlow (Flexifoil, GBR)
2nd -  Tom Court (North, GBR)
3rd -  Kevin Langeree (Naish, NED)
4th -  Max Blom 

1st -  Laura Fernandez (ESP)
2nd - Susi Mai (Cabrinha, GER)
3rd -  Jalou Langeree (Naish, NED)
4th – Karolina Winkowska (Naish, POL)

Official PKRA Freestyle Results (Fuerteventura):

   1. Aaron Hadlow (Flexifoil, GBR)
   2. Kevin Langeree (Naish, NED)
   3. Youri Zoon (Slingshot, NED)

   1. Bruna Kajiya (Flexifoil, BRA)
   2. Joanna Litwin (Nobile, POL)
   3. Karolina Winkowska (Naish, POL)

The Fuerteventura PKRA Kiteboarding Grand Slam 2009 is organized and presented by Pro Center Rene Egli in cooperation with Playas de Jandia Fuerteventura, the Tourism Council of Fuerteventura, Gobierno de Canarias, Hotel Melia Gorriones, Tropical, Cabrinha and Neilpryde.

SurferToday uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. More info: