Aboitiz and Schibevaag win the waves at 2011 PKRA Lanzarote

April 11, 2011 | Kiteboarding
Keahi De Aboitiz: wave domination

Sun and clouds visited Caleta de Famara in the final day of the 2011 PKRA Lanzarote. There were 20-knot onshore winds and four foot waves for all kiteboarders. It was double elimination time for the wave riders.

Keahi De Aboitiz was the one to smile, in Spain. The Australian rider was defeated by Fabio Nunes in the first men’s final by 1.30 points, but in the second final, De Aboitiz took the win with a better score of 2.73 points.

Strapless maneuvers such as aerials and remarkable cutbacks on the edge of the critical section earned him the PKRA Lanzarote wave title. Fabio Nunes took second overall with his impressive fast series of vertical re-entries while maintaining control and stability.

Filippe Ferreira follows in third place with his powerful cutbacks and invigorating bottom turns.

In the Women's division, it was a great day for Kari Schibevaag, the current leader of the PKRA Wave discipline ranking. Schibevaag’s sharp bottom turns and explicit cutbacks earned her the title here in Lanzarote defeating Angela Peral in the women’s final.

Peral had amazing heat, charging her way to the top of the critical section in a vertical direction with a smooth continuous speed. Ines Correia from Portugal takes third place with her impressive style and aggressive maneuvers.

A brief award ceremony was held on the beach as competitors received their trophies and posed for pictures for fans who seek inspiration and a memorable souvenir.

2011 PKRA Lanzarote | Wave Results


1. Keahi De Aboitiz (Cabrinha, AUS)
2. Fabio Nunes (Phoenix, BRA)
3. Paulino Ferreira (Wainman, BRA)
4. Tom Hebert (North, NCL)


1. Kari Schibevaag (Ozone, NOR)
2. Angela Peral (North, ESP)
3. Ines Correia (RRD, POR)
4. Marie Gautron (Takoon, FRA)