Alex Pastor and Bruna Kajiya win the Teri Kite Pro Freestyle 2009

November 28, 2009 | Kiteboarding

2009 Teri Kite Pro

It was a very exciting championship round yesterday and kiteboarding enthusiasts all over still can’t get enough of what has transpired at the Teri Kite Pro 2009 – the last leg of the 2009 PKRA World Tour.

Spanish rider Alex Pastor (Naish) proved he was the man to beat at the men’s Freestyle event, winning both the Singles and the Doubles elimination and capturing his first ever Tour title.

Naish team mate Kevin Langeree (NED) had his first ever World Championship title and Brazilian rider Bruna Kajiya (Flexifoil) captured the women’s title.

Young Spanish rider and 2008 World Champion Gisela Pulido (Airush) had her game going in the Singles elimination in a classic Kajiya-Pulido battle but unexpectedly lost in the Doubles semi-finals.

Freestyle Winners (Men):
1st – Alex Pastor (Naish, ESP)
2nd – Kevin Langeree (Naish, NED)
3rd – Youri Zoon (Slingshot, NED)

Freestyle Winners (Women):

1st – Bruna Kajiya (Flexifoil, BRA)
2nd – Karolina Winkowska (Naish, POL)
3rd – Gisela Pulido (Airush, ESP)

While this event will go down in kiteboarding history as one of the most exciting games in the 2009 season, surprises still keep coming up in this beautiful South Pacific island of New Caledonia.

Today’s perfect weather – clear skies and super windy conditions was not forecasted but became a welcome surprise for the day. It was a total contrast to the no-wind-day forecast, a warm 23° Celsius temperature with average wind speed of 20 – 25 knots, dominated the competition area.

As a result, PKRA Event Director Olaf Van Tol was able to hold three individual competitions for the day – Best Trick, Kite Loop and Big Air/Best Trick. Each discipline lasted for approximately 1.5 hours. In between the competition, there was a small 10-15 minute break before the start of the next discipline as a breather for the athletes.

The day started exactly at 11:00 am when the mandatory riders’ meeting was held, but the actual competition got underway around 12:40 pm local time. The competition wrapped up at 5:00 pm local time with an awards ceremony on the beach for the winners of the three disciplines. Congratulations to all the winners!


1. Youri Zoon – (Slingshot, NED)
2. Aaron Hadlow – (Flexifoil, GBR)
3. Andy Yates – (Slingshot, AUS)

1. Gisela Pulido – (Airush, ESP)
2. Angela Peral – (North, ESP)
3. Johara Sykes-Davis (Flexifoil, GBR)


1. Marc Jacobs – (Airush, NZL)
2. Tom Hebert – (Airush, NCL)
3. Kevin Langere – (Naish, NED)

1. Gisela Pulido – (Airush, ESP)
2. Stephanie Aurin – (Takoon, NCL)


1. Aaron Hadlow – (Flexifoil, GBR)

2. Michael Siret – (Slingshot, NCL)
3. Marc Jacobs – (Airush, NZL)


1. Gisela Pulido – (Airush, ESP)
2. Angela Peral – (North, ESP)

Teri Kite Pro 2009 – the last Tour stop of the 2009 PKRA World Tour is organized by the Kiteboarding League of New Caledonia, LVLNC with official partners Orangina, Ramada Plaza, Nissan, Teri and SeaDoo with special support from NRJ, Air France, RFO Nouvelle Caledonie and Total.