Bittersweet finale at 2019 GKA Gran Canaria

June 17, 2019 | Kiteboarding
Mikaili Sol: charging and winning events | Photo: Romantsova

The 2019 GKA Freestyle World Cup Gran Canaria did not crown a male champion due to the lack of wind at Vargas Beach.

The second stop of the 2019 GKA World Tour was cursed by adverse weather conditions, leaving more than thirty international elite riders waiting for a contestable breeze.

Although the wind conditions expected for Sunday were worse than the ones for Saturday, the organization's team woke up at dawn with the hope that the same miracle would occur in the early hours of the morning.

The good news is that the women's division crowned a champion. Mikaili Sol took first place after beating her Brazilian teammate Bruna Kajiya.

"I don't have words to describe what I'm feeling right now! I'm so happy to have won the event. Thanks to everyone who supported me and believed in me!" expressed Sol.

The riders of the men's division managed to get closer to the first semifinals last Friday, after a marathon day of waiting that lasted until seven o'clock in the evening when the first semifinals got underway.

Liam Whaley had high expectations for this event and landed in Gran Canaria with "a lot of motivation to get a first place."

However, in the end, there was not enough wind to complete the remaining heats and crown one of the eight semifinalists.

As a result, semifinalists will all share a first-place finish.

An Unusual Situation

The spot of Vargas typically has winds of up to 35-40 knots, and sometimes even become too strong for kitesurfing.

In the previous weekend, local riders had with gusts of wind that exceeded 30 knots during the Spanish Cup.

What has occurred this time is not a common situation in a place. Vargas has become one of the favorite spots for all athletes, thanks to the quality and perseverance of a wind that blows strong for 330 days of the year.

2019 GKA Freestyle World Cup Gran Canaria

1. Gianmaria Coccoluto (ITA)
1. Arthur Guillebert (FRA)
1. Liam Whaley (ESP)
1. Maxime Chabloz (CH)
1. Luis Alberto Cruz (DOM)
1. Valentin Rodriguez (COL)
1. Carlos Mario (BRA)
1. Set Teixeira (BRA)

1. Mikaili Sol (BRA)
2. Bruna Kajiya (BRA)
3. Pippa van Iersel (NL)
4. Rita Arnaus (ESP)