Chip Wasson conquers the 2010 Cabrinha Racing Season Series

September 25, 2010 | Kiteboarding
Chip Wasson: cheap win

The 2010 Cabrinha Racing Season Series closed out this past September 23rd just about where it started with Chip Wasson, Stefaans Viljoen and Geoff Headington on the podium.

With a smaller than normal turnout on hand for the final race of the season the weather was a bit of a disappointment for the first time in summer long 12 race series.

While racing got started under promising conditions of 13-18 mph it quickly deteriorated and allowed for only one race to get off.

Chip Wasson sailed to the race one victory and in the process claimed the night and the season series title.

In addition because he is old, he simultaneously clinched the master's division season title. Geoff Headington finished the last race of the season just as he did the first race of the season in second place. Third place on the night went to Chris Brown.

The first race of the season, way back on April 15th, saw Chip Wasson taking the victory with Geoff Headington taking second and Stefaans Viljoen getting third.

And that's just about how the season series would wrap up with exception that Viljoen and Headington would trade places when it was all tallied up.

All in all and incredible season of racing and thanks to Cabrinha Kites, Captain Kirks, Ozone Travel, and the St Francis Yacht Club for all their support.

Special thanks go out to any and all volunteers who helped on race committee throughout the year. See you next year for an even bigger and better Cabrinha Kiteboard Racing Series.

2010 Cabrinha Racing Season Series | Results

1. Chip Wasson
2. Stefaans Viljoen
3. Geoff Headington
4. Eric Due
5. Christopher Brown
6. Joey Pasquali
7. Kevin Richards
8. Marcello Segura
9. William Morris
10. Eric Geleynse
11. Frank Wittke
12. Andrew Koch
13. Erin Loscocco
14. Johnny Heineken
15. Bret Hersher
16. Bill Plautz
17. Allen Chung
18. Kevin Growney
19. Darren Bass
20. Tobin Fisher
21. Hugo Kenyon
22. John Gomes
23. Steve Gibson
24. Nick Levi
25. Alex Bucur
26. John von Tesmar
27. Bruce Johnson
28. Jim Keenan
29. Donny Parker
30. Sandy Parker
31. Nicolas Ostermann
32. David Lyon


1. Chip Wasson
2. Marcello Segura
3. Eric Geleynse
4. Frank Wittke
5. Bret Hersher
6. Bill Plautz
7. Hugo Kenyon
8. John Gomes
9. Steve Gibson
10. Bruce Johnson
11. Jim Keenan
12. Donny Parker
13. Nicolas Ostermann
14. David Lyon

The Summer Surf Gear Guide 2021