Guilly Brandao wins 2011 Pacasmayo Kitesurf Pro

October 26, 2011 | Kiteboarding
KSP Pacasmayo: snapping like surfers

Guilly Brandao and Milla Knesse Ferreira, both from Brazil, have stormed the 2011 KSP Pacasmayo Kitesurf Pro, held in Peru. World-class conditions and next-level action were the main ingredients of the last day of wave kitesurfing competition.

Throughout the final 12 heats, competitors rode once again predominantly strapless, drawing lines comparable to high-level surfing. There were 15-to-20 knot winds and overhead waves peeling around the lighthouse point.

Men’s Finals kicked off with Solbach battling Felippe Ferreira for third place. Both riding backhand on the perfect peeling walls, each kiter exhibited a high degree of control, power and flow as they rode tight in the pocket and repeatedly cracked the lip hard. Scoring a 7.77 and 7.07 on his two best waves, Ferreira bested Solbach’s 14.37 score by less than half a point.

In the final showdown of the Pacasmayo Peru Kitesurf Pro, Cozzolino - who earned the highest wave count of the day (7) and displayed an inspiring fusion of high-level surfing and innovative tricks - succumbed to Brandao for the tour stop title. Recovered from a rib injury that plagued him at the first KSP tour stop of the year, Brandao rode just three waves in the final heat - all scoring over 8 points and producing the best heat score of whole contest (17).

Women’s Finals proved action-packed as well, with Jones bagging the second highest heat score of the day (12.73) and taking third place against Strachan. And finally, in the Correia vs. Knesse Ferreira showdown, the 20-year-old Brazilian delivered a high-scoring performance (second only to her Heat 15 score), winning the KSP tour stop title with her incredible surf-influenced talent.

2011 KSP Pacasmayo Kite Surf Pro | Results


1st place: Guilly Brandao (BRA)
2nd place: Airton Cozzolino (ITA/North)
3rd place: Felippe Ferreira (BRA)
4th place: Sky Solbach (USA/North)
5th place: Sebastian Ribeiro (BRA)
5th place: Mauricio Pedreira (BRA)
5th place: Etienne Lhote (FRA/F-One)
5th place: Mitu Monteiro (CBV/F-One)


1st place: Milla Knesse Ferreira (BRA)
2nd place: Ines Correia (POR)
3rd place: Kirsty Jones (GBR/North)
4th place: Kelly Strachan (USA)
5th place: Kristin Boese (GER/Best)
5th place: Adriana Harlan (HI)