Invitees announced for the Red Bull King of the Air 2015

September 25, 2014 | Kiteboarding
Red Bull King of the Air: the sky is the limit in Cape Town | Photo: Red Bull

The Red Bull King of the Air has announced the names of the kiteboarders invited for the event scheduled to be run between 31st January and 15th February, 2015, in Cape Town, South Africa.

Kevin Langeree, Ruben Lenten, Steven Akkersdijk, Andries Fourie, Aaron Hadlow, Jesse Richman, Tom Herbert, Billy Parker, Nick Jacobsen, Reno Romeu, Gianni Aragno, and Jerrie van de Kop will try to boost the biggest airs in a flag-out competition format.

"I just can't wait for the KOTA 2015 to kick off! To me this event is the most extreme, fun and the best way to show what kiteboarding is all about. The vibe around the event is just magical," explains Kevin Langeree.

"Twenty-four of the best big air kiteboarders in the world pushing themselves and each other to go bigger and bigger. Just thinking about that again gets me so fired up. I've been training a bunch this year to prepare myself even better than last year so I can hopefully defend my title in 2015."

The sky is their limit. The 2014 edition of the Red Bull King of the Air brought 12,000 people to the sands of Cape Town. They've witnessed huge airs and scary wipeouts as Langeree claimed the trophy.

The complete roster of 24 participants will only be locked in when the 12 wildcards get picked from online entries and social voting.

Red Bull King of the Air 2015 | Riders

Aaron Hadlow
Alexandre Neto
Andries Fourie
Antonin Rangin
Billy Parker
Gianni Aragno
Jerrie van de Kop
Jesse Richman
Johnno Scholte
Joshua Emanuel
Kevin de Smidt
Kevin Langeree
Lasse Walker
Lewis Crathern
Nico Etienne
Nick Jacobsen
Oswald Smith
Reno Romeu
Ruben Lenten
Sam Light
Sam Medysky
Steven Akkersdijk
Tieme Rietveld
Tom Hebert

SurferToday uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. More info: