Joey Pasquali steals the 2015 Bluerush Kite Race Series

October 7, 2015 | Kiteboarding
Joe Pasquali: accelerating in San Francisco | Photo: Brendan Richards

Joey Pasquali has claimed the 2015 Bluerush Kite Race Series, hosted by the St. Francis Yacht Club, in San Francisco.

The winner of the event was only decided in the last race of the decisive night. Pasquali defeated experienced speedster, Johnny Heineken. Stefaans Viljoen finished third, and Bay Area rider Seth Besse kept fourth.

"It has been a great year for the 2015 Bluerush Kite Race Series. It just shows how fast the sport is developing that 34 out of 36 season competitors switched to racing hydrofoils this year, with about 80 percent making the change to ram air kites as well," underlined Joey Pasquali.

"This made for very tight racing all season, and for me it came down to a nail-biting last race against Johnny Heineken to decide the season victory. I managed to make it a third-year consecutive victory, which is something I had only hoped for. I am already raring to go for next year for another hardcore racing series!"

The 2015 Bluerush Kite Race Series kicked off on the 9th April. A total of 12 races got underway. Joe Pasquali won seven bullets and finished runner-up three times.

2015 Bluerush Kite Race Series | Top 10

1. Joey Pasquali
2. Johnny Heineken
3. Seth Besse
4. Stefaans Viljoen
5. Chip Wasson
6. Erika Heineken
7. Eric Due
8. John Tilney
9. Haydn Fischer
10. Will Morris

SurferToday uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. More info: