John Heineken and Katja Roose crowned in the Riviera Maya

April 23, 2012 | Kiteboarding
John Heineken: floating to another victory

John Heineken and Katja Roose have conquered the PKRA Mexico 2012, at the splendid Playa del Carmen, in the Riviera Maya. In the last day of competition, there was only a calm beach and a more serene atmosphere. No winds, unfortunately.

Katja Roose, the top female rider of this competition, commented that she was really happy to have had great female competition, specifically mentioning Erica Heineken, who was often not far behind.

Roose went on to say that she’s very excited that more and more females are beginning to take part in the sport, revealing that while the equipment can still be expensive, it is becoming more accessible - as racers only require one board and just a few kites.

Making a huge mark on the event as well, Erica Heineken, in her first PKRA race competition ever, finished at an impressive 2nd place.

While she may not be able to make it to other PKRA race events this year, Heineken said she hopes to make it to more in the future, and will be competing at Worlds in 2012 alongside many of the local races from her home spot – San Francisco.

For the men, the U.S. dominated this event, with John Heineken, Bryan Lake, and Adam Koch taking the top three podium finishes. Koch explained earlier in the event how appreciative he is to be racing alongside such talented racers.

With a high level of respect between these riders, Koch revealed that they all challenge each other with every race, elevating the level of riding while still maintaining a healthy sense of camaraderie and admiration.

Since the freestyle riders were unable to complete the single elimination ladder, the four finalists – Sean Farley (MEX) , Alberto Rondina (ITA), Noe Mixtli (MEX), and Miguel Manzanilla (MEX) gained equal recognition on stage for this event.

While this podium did not reflect a completed competition, it was most certainly exciting to see the local riders from Playa Del Carmen and Progreso shine at their home spot. Additionally, Paolo Rista (ITA), Andrzej Ozog (POL), and Luis Nuno Morais (POR) won top placements for the Master's division.

1. John Heineken (USA)
2. Bryan Lake (USA)
3. Adam Koch (USA)

1. Katja Roose (NED)
2. Erica Heineken (USA)
3. Nuria Goma (ESP)