Johnny and Erika Heineken nominated for ISAF Sailor of the Year 2013

October 3, 2013 | Kiteboarding
Erika Heineken: smile, you're always winning

Johnny and Erika Heineken have been nominated for the ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year Awards 2013.

The fastest kiteboard siblings in the world have been dominating the IKA Course Race competitions in the last years, and don't seem to let it go for their closest opponents.

In a 153-boat fleet at the 2012 IKA Course Racing World Championship in Cagliari, Heineken dominated the field, stylishly winning all five races in the final series.

Two out of three Medal Race wins handed Heineken his second successive title, sharing the peak of the podium with sister and Female ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year nominee Erika Heineken.

Speed combined with finesse and a desire to claim her first World Championship title culminated in an impressive score card.

Erika notched up 11 race victories in the 42-strong fleet and only three second place finishes blighted a near faultless week for the American as she claimed gold.

The winners are selected by the ISAF Member National Authorities (MNAs), the national governing bodies for sailing around the world, and will be announced on the 12th November, 2013, in the Sultanate of Oman.

2013 ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year Award | Nominees

Mathew Belcher (AUS)
François Gabart (FRA)
Johnny Heineken (USA)
Paul Larsen (AUS)
Ian Williams (GBR)

Jo Aleh & Olivia Powrie (NZL)
Deneen Demourkas (USA)
Erika Heineken (USA)
Raiya Al Habsi (OMA)

The Surfing Christmas Gift Guide for 2021 | Explore our Christmas gift ideas for surfers