Ned Taylor and Hannah Whiteley storm Barrow

June 3, 2011 | Kiteboarding
Ned Taylor: high and dry

Ned Taylor and Hannah Whiteley secured the top places in the podium at the 2011 BKSA Freestyle Barrow, in Walney Island, UK. The wind conditions were superb and 35 knots were recorded.

Friday dawned with a strong westerly under sunny skies with the water looking tropical. The pros got on the water with 9 meter kites, however most were changing down to 7 meter as the wind was stronger than predicted. There were small kickers and some big moves going down with some spectacular wipe-outs.

There was some great riding from the Pro Men. Dan Sweeney doing some great combos to get a fourth, Jon Blieker got a third place with some big moves, while 2010 UK champion Ned Taylor scored his first win against local Luke Whiteside, in a close final.

In the girls, it was all to play for in the losers final with Nicky Rudd competing against Pip Grundy and Sukie Robertson. Nicky won her heat only to wipe-out seconds before the end to face a trip to hospital with an over extended arm injury.

Holly Kennedy, from Troon, and Hannah Whiteley, from Stockport, went out in the winds to show how they had improved over the past six months training abroad. Hannah got the win.

Saturday, the winds were peaking between 25-30 knots with the juniors on 5 metres, whilst everyone else was on 7 metres. Very windy. There was plenty of crashing and broken kites.

There were some great riding in all fleets. Pete Whiteley showed great skill in retaining his lead in the seniors against competitors ten years younger, busting old favourites like deadmen.

Robbie Shire Maidment did well in the juniors to take a great win with some new moves, ahead of Ellys Bloore and Jordan Hurst. All were riding extremely well. In the Youth section, there was some great technical riding with 2010 UK Youth champion Jack Daykin winning. Younger sister Chloe Durrant won over her sibling Danille, in a final which also saw Kierra Allwood in the Amateur Ladies. An all Norfolk final! Amateur Men was won by new face Chris Forshaw.

Pro Men

1. Ned Taylor
2. Luke Whiteside
3. Jon Bleik

Pro Women

1. Hannah Whiteley
2. Holly Kennedy
3. Nicky Rudd

Am Men

1. Chris Forshaw
2. Oliver Clackworthy
3. Jake Moore

Am Women

1. Chloe Durrant
2. Danielle durrant
3. Keira Allwood


1. Pete Whiteley
2. Pete Jones
3. Marcus Hawkins


1. Jack Daykin
2. Will Makinson
3. Robert Palmer


1. Robbie Shire-Maidment
2. Ellys Bloore
3. Jordon Hurst